Geeks logo

My Review of "The Gray Man"

I like good old dumb fun and this movie has it in spades.

By Brian AnonymousPublished 4 months ago 3 min read
1

The Gray Man is an exclusive action film from Netflix. It came out back in 2022 but I didn't hear great buzz about this one. Still it looked like it had a ton of potential so I thought I would give it a try. I have to report that I was pleasantly surprised with this one.

The movie starts off in the past with the introduction to a mysterious man simply named Six. We see him in prison talking to a man named Fitzroy. Apparently Six had done something so bad that he was put in prison for a very long time. Fitzroy saw a lot of potential with Six and decides to recruit him for a special secret organization.

Think of it kind of like a Suicide Squad thing but with no superhuman powers. Well he is very similar to John Wick and we know how he's pretty much a superhero so who knows. If you guys like John Wick then you're going to love this one.

We fast forward to the present and he's assigned to kill a person. Things seem really off so Six has to go off script to get his target. When he finally does kill his target he finds out some interesting things about his boss. He's entrusted to take care of a special medallion that contains secrets to take down his boss. It's all your usual espionage fare.

Of course his boss is smart enough to know something is up and basically puts a hit on Six. All hell breaks loose when they discover how good Six really is. The movie then even escalates with even more things that Six holds dear to his heart and elevates the stakes for him to take down his boss.

There are a ton of action sequences in this movie and they're done really well. It really feels like a high budget movie despite the fact that it's a Netflix action movie. They have huge stars in the cast and their charm and charisma exudes out of the screen. I couldn't help but like all of the characters even the over the top villain.

Yes it is quite predictable but that's kind of the point if you like these types of movies. This is sort of like romantic comedies but for action. You know what you're going to get and there's a comfort to that. We have an unstoppable badass looking to enact revenge. There's nothing wrong with that and a ton of us love these types of movies as well. This movie so happens to tick all the boxes that make these movies really fun.

I think I had the most fun in this movie when they put Six in outrageous scenarios that he has to figure out how to get out of. I like the creativity that comes in getting out of these situations even if some fo those solutions are pretty outlandish as well. This is not supposed to be viewed as a realistic spy movie. I think the makers of this movie know that as well.

To top it off they made it out at the end so that there could be a possible sequel to this movie. I think they're trying to make this into a franchise and if they can get the same players on board for a sequel I'm all for it.

Overall, I had a really fun time with this movie. It's a ensemble of things that I liked. The direction of the action with the ensemble cast along with the clever outlandish situations they put Six into. It doesn't hurt that the special effects and action sequences were done right as well. I have to give this movie a 7 out of 10 and would recommend this for people that love action movies.

review
1

About the Creator

Brian Anonymous

I have tons of opinions that change constantly. I watch a lot of movies and play video games. There are some articles on my struggles with languages and dance as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Manisha Dhalani4 months ago

    It was okay - I'd give it a 7 too!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.