Geeks logo

My Review of "The Flash: Season 6"

A somewhat confusing and uneven season but picks up later close to the end of the season.

By Brian AnonymousPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

The Flash: Season 6 is a pretty ambitious season and as a season itself it can be quite confusing and frustrating to watch by itself because of the Crisis story-line that they added to the CW DC universe. I believe you'll have a much better time with this season if you were able to watch the other CW DC universe franchises along with the Flash. I wasn't able to view these other shows so I didn't really have as great of an experience.

The season starts off on a low point as Barry and Iris are still dealing with the loss of their daughter. It also deals with the struggles with the conflicting personality issues with Caitlin and Killer Frost. This has always been a bit of a struggle but in this season they have more of an emphasis of Killer Frost's character as she's more of a presence now.

Crisis starts to show its ugly head in this season when Barry realizes that he's going to die in the big event. With that he prepares everyone for his ultimate demise. He tries to prepare the whole team in case of his demise so that they'll be self reliant. It's kind of a weird concept because they're always trying to save people regardless of the fact the tasks may seem impossible.

Of course the team doesn't believe in a no win situation but Barry has pretty much given up on all hope and doesn't even think of any alternatives. It's a totally different direction that feels a little off brand for the series but I guess they need to switch it up a little.

The story-line with the villain Bloodwork was an interesting idea. I like the fact that he was able to control Flash and all seemed to be lost and they even used Barry's mental state to help with the story-line. I didn't think it would work as well as it did.

Then I was lost for a little while. As I mentioned earlier I wasn't able to watch the other CW DC universe franchises to understand what exactly was going on with Crisis. I thought it was an interesting idea and very ambitious but without seeing the other shows I had no clue what was going on. There would be random appearances of other DC characters out of nowhere and it felt like I missed out on a lot of story.

This is probably my only complaint of the season as not all of us have all of the channels to watch everything. Sometimes we don't have the time to explore and watch all of these shows either. Then again I'm only a casual fan. Hardcore fans would definitely have enjoyed every minute of the huge cross-over story-line. I really wish I was able to as well.

The aftermath of Crisis was pretty interesting. Barry had to deal with a lot of the consequences of the event. Of course I was still lost in some of these aspects but the series did some interesting things like the guilt of Barry for leaving everyone for Crisis. There's also the aspect that the speed force is gone and he only has a finite amount of speed force left.

Iris gets stuck in some sort of mirror world and a doppelganger takes her place. They did some interesting interactions between the real world and mirror world. I have to say I usually get lost when it comes to parallel universes start being played out in TV series. I remember when the TV series Fringe started doing it. I totally got lost and stopped watching it but luckily Flash didn't go too crazy with their parallel universes that it wasn't understandable or easy to follow. This show is geared towards adolescence after all.

So backstories continue to be revealed with new characters and it's pretty interesting again but this season pretty much ends on a cliffhanger that felt pretty undue especially since we all had to deal with the whole crisis situation. The cliffhanger didn't even feel like a cliffhanger. It felt more like they didn't finish an episode that's supposed to air next week. Now we have to wait for a whole year for the next episode.

Overall, this season was a little uneven. I'm sure if I got to watch all of the other episodes that dealt with Crisis my opinion on this season would be totally different but I didn't. Without watching those other shows the middle portion of this season feels confusing and lacking. It's obvious that there's a lot of story missing. Still the beginning and ending of the season is enjoyable. I have to give this season a 6.5 out of 10. For those that have seen the other episodes would probably give it a way higher score though.

review
Like

About the Creator

Brian Anonymous

I have tons of opinions that change constantly. I watch a lot of movies and play video games. There are some articles on my struggles with languages and dance as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.