Geeks logo

My Review of "The Bad Batch: Season 1"

The first Star Wars animated series I've watched since the Ewoks. I was pleasantly surprised.

By Brian AnonymousPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

The Bad Batch: Season 1 has just wrapped up its first season exclusively on Disney Plus. It's the first time I've ventured into the animated world of Star Wars TV shows. That is if you don't count the 80's Ewok series. I was too young to even understand the Ewok series anyways. It was just a bunch of teddy bears running around. This series made me curious about other Star Wars animated TV shows now.

The show starts off pretty much where Star Wars Episode II: Attack of the Clones ends off. Palpatine has just made the call for order 66. All of the clones turn their targets to the remaining Jedi. Eliminating practically all of them. This is where the Bad Batch get introduced in the show. They are also clones but they're kind of defective clones.

Despite the fact that they're defective clones they are extremely effective at their work. The problem with these clones is that they don't really follow orders. They think for themselves and are pretty loyal to each of their brethren. I guess that's why order 66 didn't truly effect them as it affected the rest of the clones.

Due to their inability to receive order 66 they're kind of in the dark at first as to what's going on with the rest of the imperial forces. They soon find out what's going on and things kind of take a turn for the worse for our heroes.

Each of the Bad Batch are very different from one another. They sort of remind me of the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles in a way. Their personalities are so different yet they're so connected like a family. To make things a little more interesting for the crew they meet up with this girl called Omega.

Unbeknownst to them Omega has a history and they all connect in some way. It's interesting how this is eventually revealed throughout the season. They also lose one of their brothers named Crosshair. He gets taken by the imperial forces and that's a whole different storyline that gets revealed later on in the season.

Throughout each episode of the season there's more and more information that is revealed about Omega and the Bad Batch. They discover all of these things by accomplishing a multitude of missions to make ends meet. Since they're pretty much a team of rogue storm troopers they're also running away from the imperials.

The battles throughout each of the episodes are pretty well done. There are a few scenes where it's a little dark for my liking but the animation is quite smooth. It's pretty impressive what they can do with CGI cartoons nowadays especially on a small scale like a TV show.

There are also a lot of Easter eggs and cameos along the way to appease a lot of the Star Wars fans that have been keeping up with everything Star Wars. I have to admit there were a few of them that flew over my head and my brother had to explain them to me for me to get some context. Ideally, you'll get the most of this show if you've watched everything Star Wars but as a casual viewer I was never lost while watching this show. It's a very self contained storyline that doesn't require you to watch anything else to understand what's going on.

Overall, I did have a pretty good time. The pacing of the show was really well done and I waited in anticipation for each upcoming episode. That shows that they've done a pretty good job with the show. I have to give this animated series a 7.5 out of 10. The season ends off on a high note and I look forward to season 2 whenever that may be.

review
Like

About the Creator

Brian Anonymous

I have tons of opinions that change constantly. I watch a lot of movies and play video games. There are some articles on my struggles with languages and dance as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.