Geeks logo

My Review of "Please Don't Destroy: The Treasure of Foggy Mountain"

Not everyone will like this type of humor but I thought it was a blast.

By Brian AnonymousPublished 4 months ago 3 min read
Like

Please Don't Destroy: The Treasure of Foggy Mountain is a comedy that came out closer to the tail end of 2023. Please Don't Destroy is a trio that I love seeing on Saturday Night Live so when I heard that they made a movie I had to check it out. If you're into their skits on Saturday Night Live then you will know what to expect in this movie. It's a lot more of that but with a lot of set up for longer paced jokes.

The movie starts off with the explanation of the treasure found at Foggy Mountain. It's pretty ridiculous and the treasure is quite funny as well. More importantly we get introduced to our main trio, John, Martin, and Ben. The three of them grew up with each other and have become lifelong friends.

It really shows how great the three get along with one another. Their enthusiasm for life and fun in general is quite infectious. They also happen to be idiots with terrible luck. Oblivious of any concern they kind of live their best lives all the time. It's really funny to see because we know as audience members that we'd probably freak out if we were in the same situations. Instead they simply pivot to more ridiculous methods in getting things done and have fun doing it. You really have to see this to understand what I mean.

Of course the honeymoon has to come to an end if we have a movie. The three friends seem to be diverging from each other because their lives are changing in their mid to late 20s. Martin is going out with a very religious girl and has changed completely because of this. Ben is trying to win the affections of his father by trying to make him proud. Meanwhile, John is all alone wanting his friends to be the cohesive unit they used to be. He's the only one that sees the rift opening up.

By chance John finds out about the treasure of Foggy Mountain. After a number of clues trying to bash the idea into his head he realizes this is a great way for his friends to bond once again. They eventually head up to the mountain to find the treasure only to have different factions chasing after the same treasure.

I found this movie hilarious. It kind of reminded me of a modern version of the comedy Hot Rod. Unfortunately I don't think a lot of people will give this movie that much reverence because it's not that well known. It's really a shame because I really want them to continue making movies like this.

The jokes are quite wacky and usually inoffensive. I don't know how they do it but it really works and that's why I think it kind of has a broad appeal but again not everyone is going to like this type of humor. I say usually inoffensive because there are some 18+ scenes in this movie that makes it out of touch for a general audience. I'm hoping maybe this gets a cult following.

There are actually a lot of celebrity cameos in this movie as well. They are very tongue and cheek with a lot of these cameos and sometimes I was just anticipating to see who was going to show up. This movie has a lot of scenes where I just couldn't wait to see what was going to happen. They had a ton of creativity and fun with a lot of their jokes and it made me envious to know people have this kind of mind when they're writing.

Overall, I had a blast with this movie. Hopefully more people will catch onto this movie because I want more like it. Then again that's just me being selfish because I can see not everyone enjoying this type of humor. I have to give this movie a 7.5 out of 10. If you watch them on Saturday Night Live and like them you have to give this movie a shot.

review
Like

About the Creator

Brian Anonymous

I have tons of opinions that change constantly. I watch a lot of movies and play video games. There are some articles on my struggles with languages and dance as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.