Geeks logo

My Review of "Jerry and Marge Go Large"

A pretty entertaining family friendly movie. I'm not sure about multiple viewings but the first viewing is fun.

By Brian AnonymousPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

Jerry and Marge Go Large is a Paramount's latest straight to streaming video. We're living in the wild west with films nowadays. It's a little unfortunate because I think this movie could have done okay in the box office. A simple tale but sometimes simple is all we ask for with this world full of loud and bombastic media coming straight for your head.

The movie starts off with a man named Jerry who is just retiring from his job at the factory. You'd think that he'd be really excited about finally retiring and living his best years away from having a boss. It's entirely the opposite though. Jerry is a go getter and likes to work. He fears going into regular life without a purpose. Also I think Jerry may be on the autism spectrum and no one had ever mentioned it to him.

Marge is his wife of over 40 years. She's been dying for Jerry to retire because she wants some alone time with him. Their marriage has been stale for so many years and she wants them to reinvigorate it with adventures. Frankly I don't know how she's stuck around with him for so long. She is definitely a superhero in her own right.

This whole movie really starts when Jerry is aimlessly going to the local coffee shop and notices the odds on a particular lottery ticket. Being somewhat on the spectrum he notices there's something fishy about the math of the whole thing. He realizes that there might be a way to beat the lottery through probability. Fortunately for him, his hypothesis was correct and he starts winning the lottery.

At this point I start feeling like this is basically like Breaking Bad if Walter White was good and legitimate. This movie could have easily went the wrong way and I guess I'm happy they didn't. You can see some parallels to the popular TV series and this movie.

Ultimately this movie is about Jerry's self discovery. He realizes that he's been caught up with his own interests all his life. The loved ones around him have been suffering as a result. If they didn't mention that this was based on a true story I wouldn't believe it.

Well the lottery thing I could believe but I couldn't believe that he could have had such a loving family and community. How did a guy like Jerry accumulate such a wealth of loving people around him with the way that he was? He was so absorbed with his own interest that he ignored his loved ones needs for decades. They just stuck around and didn't say anything of it. It kind of boggled my mind but then again they lived in a different time.

The characters of the movie are nice and likeable. Despite Jerry's faults you still end up liking him. I think it could be because of his rivalry with another character in the movie. They make this bad guy so bad that even Jerry doesn't seem so bad.

This movie is a low budget film that admittedly deserves to go to straight to streaming but I think it would have been a nice distraction to add this to the theatres. We don't really have movies like this in the theatres anymore and I honestly think this would be a much better date night movie than a big superhero movie.

Overall, I did have fun with this movie. I think they could have cut a few more things in this movie for pacing issues but overall it was entertaining. Unfortunately I don't think this is a movie that would warrant me to watch it again anytime soon. That's why I have go give this movie a 6 out of 10. Paramount should at least release this movie wider than their streaming platform.

review
Like

About the Creator

Brian Anonymous

I have tons of opinions that change constantly. I watch a lot of movies and play video games. There are some articles on my struggles with languages and dance as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.