Geeks logo

My Review of "Euphoria: Season 2"

Another wild ride that you just don't want to get off.

By Brian AnonymousPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Euphoria: Season 2 has been out on HBO for quite a while but I haven't gotten into Euphoria until recently when I binged through season 1. I didn't know what kind of wild chaotic drama I was getting into. It did leave me salivating for more of the show. Obviously knowing season 2 was already out I had to devour it.

The season starts off shortly after the events of season 1. Jules had left Rue on the train. Meanwhile, Nate had spun a web of deception and manipulation that no one could possibly comprehend. There is some hell to pay for a ton of characters in this season.

Now that season one is out of the way we've all got a good understanding of who all the main characters are. They are all further explored in this season as they're all interacting with each other in a more elaborate way. We have a new character named Elliot that plays a prominent role in this season.

Of course we focus on the drama of Jules and Rue however it kind of takes a backseat to Rue's battle with sobriety. If you've ever known anyone or have been a victim of substance abuse her character might be all too real. Her chaotic thought meandering and manic emotions will have you at the edge of your seat.

As you may recall from my review of the first season, I was totally gripped throughout the season because of the intensity of the show. This season is no different. There are multiple scenarios where they throw in a few red herrings that made me think something crazy was going to happen. They play a nice symphony of controlled chaos in this show.

We all know that no one is safe in an HBO show so every single character could easily either go to prison, get killed or suffer something just as equally terrifying. That happens a lot in this show and it's part of the hook that kept pulling me in for another episode.

The production again is top notch but we have a little less uber close up shots of people's faces. We get more of the scene and environment. The show does however go into a bit of a pretentious phase closer to the end. It's justified as it is a culmination of what happened throughout the story but it's a little bit on the nose.

This season also plays with time a lot. There are certain moments where I got a little lost in deciphering whether the scene is within the past or the present. Scenes can be at times frenetic as they're jumping from time period to time period and jostled me a bit. I promise you it does make sense in the end though.

There's a bit of a curve ball with Nate's relationships in this season. It causes crazy drama but it kind of works out. Still it was a bit of a surprise for the characters to find themselves in their scenario. Then again teenagers will be teenagers..

One thing I liked about this season was the sheer amount of things that happen. It's not like your conventional drama TV show where they will milk secrets for as long as they can. This show will throw all the secrets out and just run with it. No one's safe from any secrets because no one can keep them secret in this show. I find that it's a breath of fresh air as we don't have to think about those things all the time with this show. Here it's more about the characters rather than the secrets they hold onto.

Overall, this is another stellar season for what I hope is a long lasting show. The stakes continually get bigger and bigger and I don't want it to stop. They had me from the first episode and that's why I have to give this season an 8.5 out of 10. A really great season that I hope will continue on for years to come.

review
Like

About the Creator

Brian Anonymous

I have tons of opinions that change constantly. I watch a lot of movies and play video games. There are some articles on my struggles with languages and dance as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.