Geeks logo

My Review of "Disenchantment: Season 3"

The much anticipated season has finally come out!

By Brian AnonymousPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1

Disenchantment: Season 3 took forever to come out. I found that this series really found its legs in the second season. If you trudged through the first season of the series you'll be handsomely rewarded with the second season. That's why I was really looking forward to the third season of the series. Coming off of the high of the second season I was looking forward to the same quality material.

This season starts off just as the second season ended. The second season ended with one hell of a cliffhanger. Bean had discovered that her mother wasn't the person who she had expected. Even worse their whole kingdom is a shambles due to the king's trusty confidant. Season three had a ton of areas that they could have touched down on.

The thing is this season kind of went off on a multitude of tangents. It almost seemed as though it reverted back to season 1 of the series. What I mean by that is that they seem to be prepping for even more things to happen in season 4. We get introduced to a whole plethora of new characters that really have not much to do with the actual main story of this season.

I kept on trying to see what these new characters were being introduced for but by the end of the season these episodes seemed to be one offs to help prepare for something. I kind of didn't like how they did it because of the focus of the story on those specific characters. They could have had cuts to what's actually going on in the kingdom while these new characters are being introduced so that we can still have some fun. Instead we get introduced to these new melodramatic characters.

One fun introduction to the series is the concept of the steampunk kingdom. This kind of flips the whole Disenchantment world around because we see that Bean's kingdom is backwards in time whereas the steampunk kingdom has so much technology. The fabled magic of Bean's kingdom isn't even that great since no one can perfect magic. It's more used for comedic scenarios.

I thought that they under utilized Bean's brother Derek. He had some hilarious scenes but I can see why they don't use his character too much. His character seems very similar to the character Ralph of the Simpsons. The storyline of him taking over the kingdom while Zog was kind of messed up put a weird hole in the series. It made me question Odval's intentions throughout the season. I thought he was supposed to want to rule the kingdom because he's the one responsible for a lot of the events for season 2.

Instead we get this subdued Odval and he suddenly becomes friendly with the family again. It was such a 180 for his character. I didn't know what to make of it. Then again it could be a satire on how politics work today. People want to be in power until they can get power. So he's the kind of person that will cause problems for the king until he actually realizes, hey I don't want to be king anymore. They do make a lot of references about stresses of having power over the kingdom and some of it had made Zog go crazy.

Another storyline that came into play is the Prince Merkimer story. I thought this was pretty funny. In this season I guess they gave him hope that he can become a prince again. His whole scenario is wildly odd but at the same time pretty hilarious. I love his character in this season and I wished they had pushed his character a little more.

There's also a love interest for Bean in this season but albeit short. I guess what they're trying to do is make Bean a tragic character. She's sort of like a Charlie Brown throughout the series so it would have been out of brand for her to finally find happiness. Still the story that they did with her love interest was way too short. They could have done more than just an episode. I even felt bad for her character after the show.

Overall, I would say that season three was a cross between season one and two. The story ramps up closer to the end but there are some one off episodes that seem to drag on a little. A little uneven but they still have some of that spark I saw from season two. I have to give this season a 7 out of 10. I see b1ig things for season 4 but I hope it doesn't take another 2 years for us to see it!

review
1

About the Creator

Brian Anonymous

I have tons of opinions that change constantly. I watch a lot of movies and play video games. There are some articles on my struggles with languages and dance as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.