Geeks logo

My Review of "Death to 2021"

A satirical comedy about the year of 2021. Those that loved Death to 2020 need apply.

By Brian AnonymousPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Death to 2021 is a fun satirical comedy about the year of 2021. It's sort of a sequel to last year's Death to 2020. If you're familiar with that special then you're going to know what's coming in this year's iteration.

Some of the familiar characters of the first special reappear in this special. You won't have to have seen the first one to have know what's going on. If you lived through 2021 then you'll understand immediately what's going on. These characters are simply over exaggerations of common modes of thought throughout the year. We have our conservative viewpoint and liberal viewpoints. Then we have a sprinkle of craziness throughout the whole thing. They even have some voices of reason.

You'll recognize a lot of familiar faces with the characters that they interview. There's a few celebrities that you'll recognize. They are absolute characters in this show as well. Each one of them have a certain charm to them. I just wanted to hear more of their opinions of the year. Obviously I don't agree with half of the things said but it was just so entertaining I wanted more.

You can't really take this special that seriously. They are simply making fun of the craziness that happened in 2021. It's also a nice reminder of the things that had happened this year. Things can fly by so quickly that they're immediately erased from your brain. There were a few things in this special that I had totally forgot had happened this year.

Of course the hot topics will be based on politics and how the pandemic is still affecting us after 2 years. I liked how they were able to make light of all of the viewpoints that persisted throughout the year. There is an admittedly liberal angle towards all of the jokes. That can be said for most media today but some of the jokes still had me in hysterics.

I originally thought that last year's special would be a one and done situation. I guess it got enough viewership that they could continue with the special. I'm glad that they did it because we don't really get those YouTube reflection videos anymore. Seeing as how those YouTube videos ended I can just imagine this special eventually being cancelled because it disturbed some people as well.

Most of the comedy is based on the exaggerated opinions of the characters. One joke for example talks about how one of the characters refuses to wear masks. In the show she eventually gets COVID and has to go to the hospital. There in the hospital they want to give her oxygen. Since she's adamant against masks she refuses the air mask to help her breathe. It's ridiculous fun like that that kept me watching.

It won't be for everyone because some of the jokes are a bit nonsensical but I tend to gravitate to some of those jokes. We rarely get this type of humor anymore and I was glad that they were able to pull it off so well. Each joke hit me pretty well and I thought it was really funny.

Overall, the most important part of the special is if I had a good time watching it. I can give you a definite yes in that department. I thought I was going to play this special in the background while I was doing stuff but that wasn't the case. Their jokes were really funny and I stopped what I was doing and just paid attention to the whole thing. That's why I have to give this year's special an 8 out of 10. It is solid fun for those that are into this type of humor.

review
Like

About the Creator

Brian Anonymous

I have tons of opinions that change constantly. I watch a lot of movies and play video games. There are some articles on my struggles with languages and dance as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.