Geeks logo

My Review of "Boy Kills World"

An ultraviolent action movie that feels part video game and part demented revenge movie. I loved it!

By Brian AnonymousPublished 23 days ago 3 min read

Boy Kills World came out back in 2023. It's an action movie that was unfortunately mixed in with a whole slew of revenge action movies that been coming out at the time. I'm really sad I passed on this when it was in theatres because this would have been awesome in the theatres. It was a victim of a movie with not much press and I hope that gets rectified soon. I had a ton of fun with this one.

The movie starts out with a narration from the nameless protagonist. Action movies hate giving their main protagonist names for some reason. He's telling us the backstory of why he is mute and deaf. It's a tragic tale that involves the death of his mother and sister. During his escape, he meets this mysterious man that teaches him how to fight. I guess he's training him to seek revenge for the wrong doings of the big villain, Hilda.

During the movie you can see that there's definitely something messed up about our hero. It seems as though he's doing drugs and his mind is definitely not stable. He sees things that aren't there and I started to wonder; if it was his own trauma that is making this happen, is he mentally unstable, is it the drugs or is it a combination of all of the above?

All will be revealed as the movie goes on and it's a bit of a doozy. Just when you think you know what's going to happen next they pull the rug from you and it's a lot of fun. During the main character's adventure he encounters some very colorful characters.

This movie has a very dark humor to it that not everyone will appreciate. I for one found it on brand with what the movie was going for and was very fun. All of these jokes and caricatures feel like they're all based on something the writer of the movie experienced in real life. They could be based on childhood experiences with video games, Saturday morning cartoons, old action movies, the list goes on. There's a relatable aspect to these things for me because I feel like a lived this same era as the writer. Again this isn't going to translate well for people watching this movie outside of this demographic. It just resonated with me very well.

The action sequences as well are totally on point. There's not too much shaky camera so you will get to see the violence in all its glory. It can get quite violent and gruesome though. Though, I felt there was an art to this violence because the way they choreographed these fights felt very purposeful and meticulous.

Some of the action angles are peculiar though. I think this movie was using a lot of the modern technology that was provided to them. I'm kind of not used to all of the drone shots that this movie does. It can feel a big disorienting when the drone is moving so fast while the action is taking place. Still a lot of fun though and does lend itself well to the movie.

Overall, I had so much fun with this movie! I think this movie has enough charisma and identity to shine as something different. I'm really disappointed in myself for taking so long to watch this one. I thought it was fantastic but not for everyone. The violence and dark elements will turn off a lot of people but those that love the revenge genre of action movies will have a fantastic time. That's why I have go give this movie a 7.5 out of 10. I would definitely recommend this one and buy it in physical format.

review

About the Creator

Brian Anonymous

I have tons of opinions that change constantly. I watch a lot of movies and play video games. There are some articles on my struggles with languages and dance as well.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    BAWritten by Brian Anonymous

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.