Geeks logo

My Review of "Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D: Season 7"

The final season of the surprisingly popular series. It was a fitting farewell for longtime fans.

By Brian AnonymousPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D: Season 7 was kind of a long anticipated season. It happened during the pandemic and what better timing for it to have happened. I haven't ever been a huge Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D fan but I have seen all the episodes of the whole series. I didn't enjoy all of them it was more of a thing to watch with my brother. Through the years I've come to know the characters and the backstories so the S.H.I.E.L.D family kind of grew on me.

I thought this series has always played catch up and aspired to be something related to the Marvel cinematic universe. They make a ton of references to let everyone know that they were deeply connected to the movies. However it wasn't until the last few seasons that they really started walking on their own and had more of their own identity.

In the last season, there was a ton of crazy things that had happened to the team where they're basically all imprisoned and the Chronicoms had basically started winning. There didn't seem to be any hope for the team against this super powered emotionless robotic beings. It ended off with a huge cliffhanger where the team had gone into some dimensional thing while chasing the Chronicoms.

Season 7 starts right where season 6 left off. We find out Coulson is alive yet again but this time he's a robot. He's basically a computer program now. You can have philosophical debates about state of being but it's interesting how they always find a way to bring him back to life after killing him over and over again. It's almost become a joke that he's indestructible. The writers of the show are well aware of this joke and have fun with us on this.

When the team had jumped with the Chronicoms they actually jumped back into time. They're off to the 1930s and I guess S.H.I.E.L.D. is just starting out around that time period. They have a ton of clever nods to this and respecting a lot of the cinematic universe canon. There's a ton of pandering throwbacks for many Marvel movie fans. There's even throwbacks to some of the older episodes of the TV series.

As the season progresses they continue to jump through different eras in American history. They don't dodge the systemic sexism and racism that was involved in those times. It's an interesting take on time travel as the team is made up of a diverse group of people who wouldn't likely be welcomed in those times. I thought this was bold and refreshing because we don't often see that side of storytelling in time travel situations.

We also saw a few pretty funny episodes that cracked me up. I actually loved some of their satire episodes where they make fun of pop culture of the eras that they jump into. I'm sure that the writers had a blast thinking of some of the ideas that they came up with for this final season.

Things eventually get serious again because they have to complete the final story arch of the series. The main focus is to find where Fitz has gone. Simmons has finally lost the inhibitor that prevents her from giving Fitz's location and the Chronicoms are thirsty for that knowledge in her brain. Apparently Fitz is the key to the team's success.

I was okay with the story but there was one character and some inconsistencies that kept on getting on my nerves throughout the season. They added a character that happens to be Daisy's sister. Oh my goodness, she's the most annoying character since I saw the Flash and he had a daughter. This girl didn't seem to have a mind of her own and was stupidly obedient to the bad guys for the dumbest reasons. She was the perfect heel for a WWE story-line. She got me screaming profanities because of her actions. I couldn't believe how angry I got with her every time she appeared.

The other thing I've had problems with is Daisy. She's a superhero on her own with the nickname Quake. She's super powerful but yet she always uses her fists to fight. This makes no sense to me at all. There's several times when she's overwhelmed by the enemies when she could have easily blew them away with her powers. That's not just this season it's past seasons as well. It boggles my mind how this hasn't been a complaint from many viewers for the longest time. There are seriously powerful superheroes in this team and they never use their powers to the full extent that they can to get out of the situations they get into. Yes it makes for a shorter episode but why did you give them powers?

Overall, I thought it was a pretty classy send off to the crew that we've watched for 7 years. It was about time too. Any more seasons would have kind of milked the series and that wouldn't have been cool. I have to give this season an 8 out of 10. This has to be the most enjoyable season of Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D that I've ever watched. Mind you, I've seen all the previous episodes so I kind of get why this season was great.

review
Like

About the Creator

Brian Anonymous

I have tons of opinions that change constantly. I watch a lot of movies and play video games. There are some articles on my struggles with languages and dance as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.