Geeks logo

My 5 Favourite Authors of All Time

A List

By Annie KapurPublished 5 years ago 4 min read
Like

As we know by now, I love to read. And although I did Film and Writing for my MA, I still did Literature for my BA and I still love to read as much as I love to analyse horror films. When it comes down to it, literature is quite possibly one of the greatest mediums for entertainment ever. People who think that reading is boring are they kinds of people you do not need in your life. Literature is amazing and authors are the creators of it.

I have a lot of favourite authors because I have a lot of favourite books. But, instead of just having a list of books or, as I've been doing recently, a list of the author's top five best books—I would like to share my top 5 favourite authors with you and I'll talk about them intermittently. Authors have pretty much been my only friends throughout school and this list is a dedication to the best ones that I personally love. I hope you enjoy this list...

5. James Baldwin

James Baldwin is considered to be one of the greatest writers of the 0th Century and personally, I'm a huge fan. I discovered Baldwin's books when I was in secondary school, specifically the books "Just Above My Head" and "Go Tell it on the Mountain" which I read both of when I was 17. They were pretty amazing books and so, over the next few years, I read not only his entire bibliography, but I read them multiple times. With the two I read first remaining my favourites by him. Want to learn more about my love for James Baldwin? Click here: Geeks: "James Baldwin: The Top 5 Novels"

4. Anne Rice

With Anne Rice, where do I begin? I think we've all heard the story of when I was at school and how obsessed I was with Interview with the Vampire and that cute little anecdote about how much I hated my music teacher even though I was the best musician in my school (probably some snobbery on my part, sorry Mrs. Toobin...) But we bonded over the comics I drew of the Vampire Chronicles characters in the back of my exercise book and it came to a pretty end. Thanks Anne Rice for making me not hate my new music teacher back then. Oh and thanks for writing the best Vampire series of all time. Wanna learn more? Here's the link, check it out: Geeks: "My Favorite Books of All Time"

3. Oscar Wilde

Oscar Wilde wrote my favourite book of all time, The Picture of Dorian Gray. A work of true and unbeatable genius, Wilde created one of the most enduring tales of gothic literature of all time. Based on the Narcissus myth, he was able to write a novel that had all the inner-workings of a modern horror. Murder, Ego, and the Ideal at the centre of this shocking terror of a book. If you would like to learn more about my love for The Picture of Dorian Gray then please, click here: Geeks: "My Favorite Books of All Time"

2. Truman Capote

Truman Capote really is one mystic soul and I love him so much and yet, feel so damn sorry for him. He had a troubled life growing up with his mother constantly abandoning him and this is pretty much detailed (and quite well) in a book called Swan Song by Kelleigh Greenberg-Jephcott (who goes through a fictional account of a story that Capote never wrote about his friends and obviously touches on his growing up stages). My favourite works by Capote include his short stories, "In Cold Blood" and obviously the grand "Music for Chameleons." If you want to learn more about my love for Truman Capote, then please proceed to click here: "Truman Capote: The 5 Best Works"

1. Philippa Gregory

As we all know I totally love Philippa Gregory. Her writing style and her historical fiction voices are absolutely amazing. My favourite books by her include: The Lady of the Rivers, The Wise Woman, and The King's Curse and yet, I have read everything she's written (so there are many more favourites!). I think she is a modern great and really feel like in one hundred years from now some of her books will be classics of Historical Fiction Literature. I love her so much it is unreal. If you would like to read more about how much I love Philippa Gregory, then click here: Philippa Gregory: "The Top 5 Works"

literature
Like

About the Creator

Annie Kapur

200K+ Reads on Vocal.

English Lecturer

🎓Literature & Writing (B.A)

🎓Film & Writing (M.A)

🎓Secondary English Education (PgDipEd) (QTS)

📍Birmingham, UK

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.