Geeks logo

My 3 Unpopular Opinions About Film

Part 1

By Annie KapurPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
My 3 Unpopular Opinions About Film
Photo by Felix Mooneeram on Unsplash

When it comes to film, you probably think that from my articles that I love all the films ever. But I don't. There are many films that I have thought were over-hyped, overrated and just plain bad. I will never really say these out loud because normally I get shouted down by whoever else is in the room at the time because I'm naturally a quiet person [laughs uncomfortably]. I'm not going to lie though, when it comes to film, I normally say it here because I find that in real life, I do not really have someone to talk to about this shit without, again, being talked over, interrupted and shouted down. It just annoys me so I just shut up altogether.

So, you are going to be subjected to my three unpopular opinions about film because I have nobody to talk to and you can choose whether to read this or not. Let us now go through this list and really, I don't really mind whether you agree or disagree, I would love if you disagreed and contacted me by email or twitter [@AnnieApprox] to tell me your opinions. The more opinions out there the better it is for everyone to make a more informed argument.

These are in no particular order.

My 3 Unpopular Opinions About Film

By Zhifei Zhou on Unsplash

I did not enjoy "Avatar" by James Cameron

No, I did not. I thought it was far too gimmicky. Remember, I am almost twenty-five years' old so I went to see this in the cinema in my teens. I went to see it in the IMAX and it was a good experience yes, but when I really think about how I felt about it: it was just very gimmicky and distracts you from the story and speech. When I watched it again on TV many years' later, I found that the writing was sloppy and the way in which we see scenes was actually not that dramatic and most of the experience of the 'dream' was encompassed within the IMAX and the eardrum-obliterating sound. So, I have to say that I did not enjoy this film and after that second time I watched this I never really watched it again because it did not interest me. But if you like it, you can. There really is not anything wrong with enjoying it.

I was not a fan of "Fight Club" the first time I saw it

I was in my early teens when I first saw "Fight Club" - actually, I think it was the same sort of time I went to watch "Avatar" in the cinemas. I am not going to lie, but when I saw it, I thought it was rather obnoxious and very cliché. I had no idea what it was about before I saw it, but I was making my way through Brad Pitt's filmography and came across it. The only problem I had is that I guessed what the 'reveal' was halfway through the film and then had no reason to watch the rest of the film because I found it 'edgy for the sake of being edgy.' The more I watched the film though, the more I came to appreciate the storyline and its writing. However, the atmosphere was still 'edgy for the sake of being edgy' to me and I think that was mostly because I was not in the demographic that this film was aimed at.

I find "Titanic" by James Cameron a boring and drawn-out movie

Do not get me wrong here, it is a very well-made movie and I think that it deserves its place in cinematic history. But the film itself is a boring story that I do not particularly care about and it is also drawn-out for so long that I'm actually lucky to have sat through the whole thing more than once. I am also aware that many people like it and that's alright, like what you like and do not let anyone tell you different. But, personally, I just find the film impossible to sit through because if I was watching something about the Titanic I want to know more about why the boat sank so I'll watch a documentary rather than a film which does not actually focus on what I would like to see.

Coming soon....Part 2

movie
Like

About the Creator

Annie Kapur

200K+ Reads on Vocal.

English Lecturer

🎓Literature & Writing (B.A)

🎓Film & Writing (M.A)

🎓Secondary English Education (PgDipEd) (QTS)

📍Birmingham, UK

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.