Geeks logo

Marvel gave Namor a goatee, I don’t like it, the musical

Or, we finally get Namor in a movie but is it what we wanted?

By Hapsetshut The PharaohPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1
My precious boy 3w3

Marvel, Marvel, Marvel, Marvel. Let’s talk, let’s be straight with each other we owe ourselves that much. We’ve had some good times, some really good times. You’ve been strong in my life for over a decade now and I know you’re always gonna be there for me in some form or another, but lately, you seem a little ‘off’. Nothings truly been bad (I didn’t hate Eternals sue me) but it hasn’t quiet been the caliber we’re used to. Is the MCU getting too big for ya? Actors aging out too fast? Feige can’t keep track of all the properties under the same roof? You can tell me it’s alright. You’re not doing bad yet, but you’re really just not doing great.

Close but not quiet there

The things I’ve been hearing lately, Tika Waititi walking out on Thor 5, Werewolf by night is unwatchable and a joke, She-Hulk is literally trash? I don’t agree with all of this obviously (I mean Werewolf by Night was friggen great! Still want Elsa to have her comic book hair though, fight me) but it is a lot of discourse to be hearing about your whole phase. I do believe in fact that ‘Phase 4’ has probably had the most discourse and discontent out of any of the phases, it’s not wholly without warrant.

Old art was weird yo

And Namor, my poor sweet, ignored fish-man. I get it ok; I get ya didn’t want the Aqua-man comparison, DC did beat you to that one, and Wonder Woman as well but that second movie was a real flub so you might be able to get them back on that one, just keep strong with Captain Marvel.

THICK BOI!

Things have been a little, disjointed since Endgame and what could have very well been a spectacular end to the MCU as a whole, but that was never the plan. This thing was never intended to end.

Yeah not quiet there is he? Close but no cigar

Pointy-eared elephant in the room now kids, Namor. First Mutant, Sub Mariner, this man has legit been around longer than Marvel has been a company. He’s been teased, hidden in tiny easter eggs throughout the films. Tony and Rhodey had the end movie fight in his company's pavilion at the end of Iron Man 2 for god's sake! They’ve been trying to put him in trying for a very long it would appear and just couldn’t squeeze him in between everything else going on. Because he’s not just ‘another’ character.

Hail to the king baby

I’m not mad they gave him Aztec/Mayan heritage or made him a Hispanic or Latina landmark, I’m mad, because his goatee ruins his face yo. Even just the mustache I would've been okay with but the goatee I see that and I just go ‘That’s not Namor’! My point being is that I don’t know if they made him 'Namor' enough.

I love this arrogant selfish (pun intended) asshole so much and I’ve waited so long with the many others to see him in the MCU, but have they changed too much? Is what makes Namor fundamentally Namor going to be there, or will it be obscured by this new identity they’ve made him into?

I mean I’m sure he’s still going to be the selfish arrogant proud asshole he is but are we going to lose something because of this Mayan topcoat being applied to his identity?

On one hand, the MCU is never going to be my main verse for these characters, but on the other hand, for a lot of people it will be and that just gives me the fear that they’ll never really get to know Namor past a surface level. It’s happened to other character's and some of it I can tolerate or even get used to, but not my boy here. Not my Namor. Have we waited so long only to be failed in our final stretch? I really hope not I really hope not.

artcomicsentertainmentindustrymoviepop culturesuperheroes
1

About the Creator

Hapsetshut The Pharaoh

I write the things, all of them. All the things. You can find more things I write on my Tumblr hapsetshut.tumblr.com

twitter also Hapsetshut

And insta, Happy_skull_productions

Patron and kofi, also Hapsetshut

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.