Geeks logo

Little Shop of Horrors - A Movie Review

'Little Shop of Horrors' is a fun movie for all audiences.

By Marielle SabbagPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Did I just hear that plant talk?

Based on the musical, Little Shop of Horrors grew into theaters in 1986. A flower shop is on its last feet. Seymour, a shy and nerdy florist attempts to impress his co-worker, Audrey. Blooming a Venus flytrap, not only is the plant alive but it craves human flesh,

After seeing the stage musical, I watched the film version of Little Shop of Horrors and I loved it! Why aren’t there more films like this? Little Shop of Horrors is a dark comedy about finding healthy relationships that suit you.

I miss Rick Moranis on the big screen. The instant Moranis started singing, I was stunned. I didn’t know he could sing! Seymour is a gentle, albeit insecure man. Taking the wrong route to get Audrey’s attention, Seymour’s growth is profound. Moranis did a fantastic job in the role.

Seymour and Audrey (Ellen Greene) made the most adorable couple. They were terrific in the leading roles. Bearing similar dilemmas, they long to live in a world that’s right. The voice that Greene created was funny. Treated unfairly in previous relationships, Audrey performs a sentimental song about the life she dreams of.

A lot of familiar faces appear in Little Shop of Horrors. The film was cast well. As a wacky and sadistic dentist, this is a role that I have never seen Steve Martin in. Martin rocks out in the part. He’s another actor who I did not realize could sing.

Tichina Arnold, Michelle Weeks, and Tisha Campbell were excellent as background singers/narrators of the story. More credits include Jim Belushi, Christopher Guest, Stan Jones, and an ensemble of individuals dancing in the streets on Skidrow.

There were a few surprise cameos that I was not expecting, like Bill Murray as a patient who enjoyed dentistry a little too much. I’m sure I lit up when I saw the late John Candy in a minor role. It does not matter how small your part is in any film. You make a big impact.

While I was watching Little Shop of Horrors, I was so impressed with the special effects and puppetry for Audrey II. No CGI was used. It was all practical. I prefer practical over CGI. It establishes realism. Audrey II was operated by the Jim Henson company. Great job on their part because I believe that this plant was alive.

Ever imagine singing with a gigantic plant? Moranis was lucky, and at the same time challenged. Filming Audrey II’s songs was not easy to film. Levi Stubbs was fantastic in his voiceover of the plant.

Frank Oz accomplished the style of this fun dark comedy. He worked well with all the actors, especially with the puppetry. Audrey II is an important part of Little Shop of Horrors. Oz set the perspective for the story.

Set in the 50s, filmmakers planned out gorgeous costumes along with the layout of the town. The film welcomes you into the world of Skidrow. Whether you love it or you’re feverish to escape, Our hometown plays an effective part in our lives.

The first time I saw the musical, the subplot about finding healthy relationships really touched me. It’s a positive message enforced in this story. Some audiences may be triggered by the topic of abusive relationships. Mushnik (Vincent Gardenia), Seymour, and Audrey look out for each other. Find a relationship that is worth your time.

Aside from some dark moments and crude language, Little Shop of Horrors is a fun movie for all audiences. It’s a classic. Find it on HBO during the Halloween season.

celebritiescomedyentertainmenthumanitymoviereviewpop culture
Like

About the Creator

Marielle Sabbag

Writing has been my passion since I was 11 years old. I love creating stories from fiction, poetry, fanfiction. I enjoy writing movie reviews. I would love to become a creative writing teacher and leave the world inspiring minds.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.