Geeks logo

Laggies - A Movie Review

I enjoyed 'Laggies' more than I thought I would.

By Marielle SabbagPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1

I’m going to hang out with teenagers to hide from my 30-year-old problems.

Laggies is a 2014 film. In the middle of a quarter-life crisis, Megan’s boyfriend proposes to her. Panicking, Megan befriends a 16-year-old girl. Deciding to hide out from adult problems, Megan learns more than she was expected to.

Incorporating the usual adult coming-of-age concept that we’ve seen in most films, I enjoyed Laggies more than I thought I would. Of course, there were some character decisions that I did not agree with. You can’t keep putting things aside - especially in adulthood. Go with your gut.

Megan doesn’t make smart decisions. She’s afraid to be an adult. Believing that running away to live with a total stranger will help erase the idea of adulthood, Megan thankfully learns a lesson. Kiera Knightley was excellent in her enactment, making herself more identifiable to viewers instead of being an unlikeable person.

This is the best Chloe Grace Moretz performance I have seen. Moretz has been typecast in several of the same roles throughout her career. Playing a somewhat rebellious teen, Annika longs to be understood. I really like how she played this role. Sensitive about certain topics, she only lets particular people in.

Knightley and Moretz did a splendid job in all of their interactions. You never know, different generations may become friends a s long as the friendship makes sense.

Sam Rockwell is an underrated actor. As soon as I saw that he was in the film, I put Laggies on my watchlist. He is capable of performing a wide range of roles, both comical and dramatic. Rockwell gives a different interpretation of the lonely divorced dad. He is humorous, serious when needed, and does an excellent job with silent anger.

Relationships play a significant focus in Laggies. I liked all the conversations between Megan and Craig. Both confused by their pathways, they help one another understand what they can do to improve them.

An assortment of characters played by a range of actors appears in this film. They’re all so natural in their parts. Credits include Mark Webber, Ellie Kemper, Sara Coates, Jeff Garlin, and Kaitlyn Dever.

Each character offers a different challenge in Megan’s life. All the characters are likable. Though I had mixed feelings about Anthony (Webber), which is on purpose to test audiences. Characters and themes are relatable to viewers of any age.

Lynn Shelton teaches any struggling viewer to make the right decisions to lead their life where they want it to go. She finds a suitable pace for the film. This story has been done before, but Shelton finds originality. The best of her direction went to the actors, coming off very naturally in all of their conversations.

If you’re not happy with certain people then don’t spend time with them. As I mentioned, generation plays a big role in Laggies. There’s no going back to a younger age once you get older. You’re in charge of figuring out life.

The story is somewhat predictable, like the whole romantic angle. One layer that Laggies could have focused more on was the storyline involving Anikka and her estranged mother.

I’m not sure if I agree with the ending results of the film. Megan should move on entirely. Megan and Craig work better as friends, With the way it ends, it ruins the message of the film.

Laggies is entertaining and dramatic. I recommend that you watch it on HBO. For any adult who is struggling, watch this film. It could help you find a purpose.

celebritiescomedyentertainmentmoviepop culturereviewhumanity
1

About the Creator

Marielle Sabbag

Writing has been my passion since I was 11 years old. I love creating stories from fiction, poetry, fanfiction. I enjoy writing movie reviews. I would love to become a creative writing teacher and leave the world inspiring minds.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Wonderful review!!!👏💖😊💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.