Geeks logo

Kassie DePavia shares her brave battle with leukemia and breast cancer

The OLTL soap vet has been appearing recently on DOOL and GH.

By Cheryl E PrestonPublished 8 months ago 3 min read
1

Kassie DePavia as Eve and Blair

According to PEOPLE Kassie DePavia has shared health update news with her fans. The One Life to Live alum has recently had roles on Days of Our Lives (Eve Donovan) and reprised her OLTL character Blair Kramer on General Hospital.

Eve was shown briefly on DOOL Bayview Sanitarium talking to Harris Michaels (Steve Burton) who had been mean to her during high school. Harris apologized and the two seem to have found some type of closure. On GH Blair has shown up in Port Charles desiring to stop paying her ex-husband Martin Grey ( Michael E Knight) $50,000 a month and claims she is the rightful owner of the patent for the Deceptor beauty wand.

DePavia proves she is a fighter

In the most recent episode of the Dishing with Digest podcast, she shares how she found herself dealing with two serious illnesses. She has battled both breast cancer and leukemia. In July 2016 DePavia was initially diagnosed with acute myeloid leukemia right after she returned to DOOL as Eve. The soap vet said she had flown back to New York during a scheduled break when she realized something was wrong.

“I went to a country jamboree up at Hunter Mountain and I’m sitting on a chair lift… I feel under my arm, I go, ‘That’s weird.’ I felt two knots. So I thought, ‘Hmmm.’ And they weren’t painful. I know I didn’t feel bad, nothing,” DePaiva said.

“I called and set up an appointment with my doctor and said, ‘Okay, coming back in July. Can you fit me in because I have these little knots? I just want to make sure everything’s okay.’ Well, did a biopsy, and you know the rest is history.”

.DePaiva first announced her leukemia diagnosis in a post on her blog in August 2016. She revealed that she had spent at least six weeks in the hospital and that more treatment was anticipated.

"I have amazing prayer warriors, family, and friends that have been extremely supportive," she wrote at the time. "Although I'm unable to be 'camera ready' now...my goal is (to) get back to stirring up trouble in Salem soon.”

Kassie DePavia is cancer-free

DePavia said initial results returned stating she did not have breast cancer but she was diagnosed with acute myeloid leukemia instead. One year later, however, she was diagnosed with breast cancer. She had a lumpectomy and says today she is "cancer-free and happy.

DePavia never missed a beat on Days of Our Lives or General Hospital and showed no sign that she was ill. She definitely does not look like what she has been through. The actress discussed her challenges of chemotherapy with podcast hosts from Soap Opera Digest, Stephanie Sloane, and Mara Levinsky.

“I was explaining how chemo is just so awful for your body and how it's not day to day, it's minute to minute,” “You know, you think, 'Okay, I’m gonna be good,' and then you get up and all of a sudden your body eliminates… I mean it was, are you faint or are you gonna throw up?”

“It’s just yucky and you just think, ‘This is never gonna end,’ and then it does and then you go, ‘Did I go through with that?’ I cannot believe it, and that’s kind of where I am now with, like, ‘I can’t believe the journey,’ but I’m grateful,”

Be sure you tune in to General Hospital this week to find out how Blair's presence in Port Charles affects her former spouse and his girlfriend Lucy Coe (Lyn Herring).

entertainment
1

About the Creator

Cheryl E Preston

Cheryl is a widow who enjoys writing about current events, soap spoilers and baby boomer nostalgia. Tips are greatly appreciated.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Great work🩶❤️‍🩹🖤❤️‍🔥💔🤎

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.