Geeks logo

Is Avatar: The Last Airbender Really the Best?

The search for a show as good as the Nickelodeon classic

By Amelia LeePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
Credit to Nickelodeon and Ethan Becker for opening credits video

Anyone, regardless of age, can find something to love in Nickelodeon’s Avatar: The Last Airbender. Personally, I also enjoyed the next installment, Avatar: The Legend of Korra, but it definitely doesn’t measure up to its predecessor. As a whole, I don’t think anything compares to The Last Airbender, or ever will. I am hoping that the recently-established Avatar Studios will eventually prove me wrong. In the meantime, here are some TV shows that manage to light a candle to the Nickelodeon classic in one way or another.

The Greater Themes

Property of Nickelodeon
Property of Cartoon Network

One of the best things about Avatar: The Last Airbender is the way it navigates serious topics such as genocide, totalitarianism, prejudice, and poverty in a way that children can understand and take valuable lessons from. The most applicable lesson I took from The Last Airbender was to not let societal expectations prevent me from pursuing my goals, just as Katara and Toph demonstrated in everything they accomplished, despite the sexism and ableism they faced.

Similarly, Cartoon Network’s 2014 miniseries Over the Garden Wall alludes to a number of meaningful topics, although they relate more to the human condition rather than societal flaws. Themes of grief, death, and loss are especially prevalent. This show motivated me to chase my aspirations, not to spite any naysayers as The Last Airbender did, but because it made me realize that life is simply too short not to do so. Furthermore, the balance of whimsy and solemnity in this show are reminiscent of Aang’s balance of his Avatar duties with his desire to enjoy his childhood.

The Weird Faces

When I was in my own childhood, my favorite part of watching Avatar was the hilarious facial expressions. I always thought it was funnier when Sokka made faces, but Aang made them far more often. Cartoon Network's The Amazing World of Gumball may have even surpassed The Last Airbender in this regard. The animators frequently rely on near-disturbing manipulations of characters’ faces for comedic effect and, in my opinion, their efforts pay off. These contorted expressions, the goofy antics of the Watterson family, and the cynical attitude towards suburban American life combine into a perfect encapsulation of Gen Z humor. I never saw it while it aired on Cartoon Network, but I thoroughly enjoyed it on Netflix as a young adult.

Property of Nickelodeon
Property of Cartoon Network

The Storyline's Progression

Property of Hirohiko Araki and David Production

Another thing I loved about Avatar: The Last Airbender was how every episode served to either advance the plot in an exciting way, or further develop a character, or both. There is not much character development in JoJo’s Bizarre Adventures, but there is plenty of action, especially in its second installment, Stardust Crusaders. Just about every episode is packed to the second with exciting battle scenes or a tense situation building up to a fight. The only caveat I have is that the English dubs for JoJo’s Bizarre Adventures are a bit over the top. I personally enjoyed it much more when watching the original Japanese with English subtitles.

The Character Development

Property of Nickelodeon

As far as character development goes, I would recommend the Netflix original Big Mouth. The show revolves around experiences during puberty, so there is lots of character development going on, in more ways than one. Although it is a cartoon, it is definitely not for children. It is, however, perfect for the kids who grew up watching The Last Airbender while it aired and are now nostalgic, perverse adults.

Property of Netflix

The Setting

Property of Nickelodeon

As mentioned earlier, Nickelodeon recently announced the creation of Avatar Studios, so it seems we can expect more content set in the amazing world of The Last Airbender. That brings me to my final point of the incredible world-building in the Avatar series. I have yet to find any TV show or movie that comes close to skillfully building a world as complex as the Avatar’s, but it seems like Kayla Cobb at Decider.com may have found one for me. Their article on the new Disney film Raya and the Last Dragon specifically compares the movie to the Avatar series with regards to its “expansive, complicated, well-crafted world”. The movie is currently only available with premier access (read: purchase) on Disney Plus, but it will be streamed on the platform starting June 4th of this year. I know my plans for that Friday evening!

Property of Disney

entertainment
1

About the Creator

Amelia Lee

Just trying to be happy. Reading and writing make me happy.

DM me your stories on Instagram @darkamish

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.