Geeks logo

I Watched Devil’s Plan on Netflix

A Korean reality TV show where smart people play games and puzzles to survive.

By Chloe GilholyPublished 4 months ago 3 min read
1

Nine of the smartest people in Korea play games of intelligence and wit in order to gain and maintain gold pieces. If ever a contestant loses all their pieces, they are eliminated from the show and made to pack their bags. The contestants really start to grow close to each other and become a family despite many betrayals and mistakes along the way. So this is why when a player gets wiped out they get so distraught to the point one of them even says he has forgotten what the outside world was like.

The show is like a combination Big Brother, K-Dramas, board games and puzzles. I think there will be a lot of comparisons to Squid Game, but there’s a big different size of cast. Having a smaller cast made all the characters get a chance to shine and straight away the contestants vibed. A lot of the players were already well established in their occupation; YouTubers, a lawyer, actor, singer and inventor. It felt like a celebrity special of a show which gave me the impression that they were all pretty rich already. I was thinking why are they fighting for prize money if they are rich already?

I think it would have been a lot more interesting if it was normal people playing difficult puzzles and games. Some of the rules did go straight over my head but it was really fun watching the games play out. Straight away, my favourites were Ha Seok-jin, Kim Dong-jae and Lee Si-won. The three were really strong players and I liked the chemistry the three of them had together.

I liked the prison element because it also served as a secret puzzle and side quest. I thought this was brilliant and I loved how unpredictable it was. I remember there was one lady that always ended up in prison and she didn’t want to go there again so Seok-Jin eliminated her so he and Si-Won could go to prison together to crack the puzzle.

Dong-jae was done really dirty. In the first game everyone was so quick to assume he was the terrorist when he was just a fanatic. I think Orbit saw him as a real threat because Dong-jae is a professional poker player and people hanged up on him on the secret number game. Then a lot of them cried about it.

When Orbit admitted he took in the underdogs to use as stepping stones, I was not surprised. He wanted to keep everyone in as many rounds as possible, but he had his savage moments. He had regrets. But it was still satisfying to see him stumble at the end. He knew his karma was coming and it was satisfying. I’ve noticed a lot of people share this opinion with me. Of course it’s a game and I did enjoy Orbit’s analysis and strategies.

I think the right person won. Seok-Jin was able to avenge the other players and he remained calm and loyal throughout the games. Out of all the games, my favourite was the first because it reminded me of the werewolf game I used to play with my friends.

It was a nice touch to have the gold confetti but I kinda wish the ending had some more substance. It just felt like here, there’s your winner and then onto the credits. Would have been nice to have interviews and scenes with the cast on what they thought about the winner and the game. I think it was a really great show, and it was entertaining. I ended up liking all the players despite their bad traits, they felt like they really bonded and the way they figured out the calculations were impressive,

reviewproduct review
1

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen4 months ago

    Watching and reading the captions is a stretch for me. I saw that but didn't watch. I may have a look at it. You make it sound fun.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.