Geeks logo

I Started A Reading Journal, And You Should, Too!

Your reading life is your life. Here's why you should start a reading journal and how to get started!

By Holly RaePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
I Started A Reading Journal, And You Should, Too!
Photo by Avery Evans on Unsplash

Once upon a time, I read a book a week and forgot everything about it soon after. As life has changed, so have my reading habits. I read at a much slower pace these days, with sometimes days between picking up my current read. Though I am reading fewer books during the course of a year, I am reading more deeply than before. Reading is no longer a part of my goals for the week, it's something I pick up, like a conversation (and not a chore). I am also wasting no time on books that I don't want to read. Shelving that book you're not interested in for later is one of the best ways to read more and avoid burnout. I talk a little bit more about that in my Vocal article 21 Tips for Reading More in 2021. For these reasons, I am getting so much more out of my reading and have found myself contemplating the books that I read far more and far longer than the books I've read in the past.

To engage even further with my reading, I decided to start a reading journal. I absolutely love journaling, but I am not an everyday journaler. For me, this journal had to be casual, simple, and follow a pattern.

By Content Pixie on Unsplash

I created this format for my journal:

  • Title + Author
  • Rating
  • Genre
  • Key-word descriptions
  • Response
  • Quotes

To "keep it casual" and avoid too much pressure surrounding the keeping of this journal, I used a notebook that I already had on my shelf. It wasn't new or perfect, so I didn't feel the pressure to keep my entries perfect.

However, if I were to buy a new journal, I would choose one from Promptly Journals. This is one of my favorite companies and I hope they create a specialized reading journal someday!

I use these journals to document my pregnancies and my children's childhood memories. These journals are my greatest treasure and so beautiful to look at!

The books we love are so often a reflection of ourselves, so in a way, this reading journal is a diary.

In some entries, such as my entry for Wild Game by Adrienne Brodeur, the response and quotes pages were filled with my personal connections to the book. In other journal entries, I explain what inspired me to read the book and my overall impression of it. I avoid explaining plot points (I already read the book and it's not a review) and just focus on my response to the story.

Some books are four or five-star books because they are brilliantly written and entertaining and others are five-star books because they connect with our souls. It is so valuable to have, in writing, the reasons a book resonated with me at the time that I read it. I also suspect that there will be books that I re-read and find that my second experience of that book is completely different than the first. The books we love are so often a reflection of ourselves, so in a way, this reading journal is a diary.

The practice of writing in and of itself is healing. When you combine the healing powers of a well-written book and those of writing down your thoughts, it creates such an in-depth and insightful reading experience.

I encourage you to do this with everything you read, including fiction! For me, I feel profound validation in reading fiction. So often a story connects me to my humanity, reminding me that I am not alone in the pains and joys of being human.

I have been in a bit of a reading slump lately, but after writing this article, I am feeling so inspired to get back into the pages of a good book. I hope this article has inspired you also to engage in a meaningful relationship with your reading.

literature
Like

About the Creator

Holly Rae

Hi, I’m Holly! I am a stay-at-home mom and freelance writer for hire. To inquire about my writing services, contact me at [email protected]. You may also show your support by tipping here on Vocal.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.