Lifehack logo

21 Tips for Reading More in 2021

Are you struggling to finish books or achieve your reading goals? These tips could help!

By Holly RaePublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1
21 Tips for Reading More in 2021
Photo by bady abbas on Unsplash

This year, many of us had more time than ever before but still didn't accomplish the things we wanted to do "if we had more time." Most people don't think they have enough time to read, but that's not always true or the real reason for missing reading goals. Here are 21 ways to help you read more books and stick with them in 2021!

1. Start small. When I get into a reading slump, I like to choose a book that is short and easy to read that will get me back into the groove. Finishing a book will give you the boost you need to tackle whatever is next on your to-be-read list!

2. Create a list. Some people plan their reading for an entire year, but I just start with the month. Choose a realistic list of books you'd like to read that month and give yourself grace if you don't finish. The worst thing you can do in list-making and goal setting is to become discouraged by the lists rather than encouraged by them.

3. Consider "themes" for your reading. When I make my monthly lists, I sometimes choose books that are seasonally appropriate or relevant to whatever is happening in the world/my life at the time. For example: Catcher in the Rye is a winter reading choice for me, while Rebecca would be an October choice.

4. Use Goodreads. I love being able to set goals on Goodread and view my progress! This is hands down my favorite way to keep my reading organized. You can also create shelves to organize your books by the ones you want to read and the ones you plan to read this year. It also has a social component where you can see what your friends are reading and discover new books!

5. Make use of ebooks. Some people only read physical copy books, but I have recently started reading ebooks and love it! I never leave my book at home, because it's on my phone if I want to pick it up and read for a few minutes.

6. Make use of audiobooks. Some books are actually better listened to. I listened to The Dutch House by Ann Patchett, read by Tom Hanks, on audiobook this year and highly recommend it as being even better listened to than read!

7. Make use of your local library. I am a huge advocate for local libraries. If I own a book, I probably read it first at the library before purchasing it for my own shelves. The library is free and if you didn't know, there are new titles coming in all the time. It's not just old books! My favorite way to use the library is audiobooks and ebooks. Check to see if your library uses Libby or Hoopla. This will seriously change your reading life!

8. If you'd rather own your books, try shopping used. I used to keep a coin jar in my house and use the change specifically for book shopping at thrift stores. It fits the budget and it's fun to do!

9. Book store browsing, in general, helps you get into the frame of mind to read more!

10. Find a reading buddy. It doesn't have to be formal at all! I have a book friend that I text almost weekly. We sometimes plan to read things together, but mostly bounce recommendations back and forth and talk about the books once we've both read them. This helps me so much stick to my reading goals!

11. It's ok to quit a book you don't like reading. Life is too short to force yourself to do things you otherwise enjoy. If it is taking you a long time to read a book or you have lost interest, go ahead and set it aside and move on. I have done this many times and loved the book the second time I picked it up. Sometimes, it's just not the right time for that book!

12. Join a book club! There are so many digital options because of the pandemic that finding a book club is easier than ever. You could also start your own.

13. Create an attainable page number goal, such as 30 pages before breakfast and 30 during lunch. Those 30-page reading sessions add up fast!

14. Read to sleep. I don't recommend doing all of your reading at night when you are tired, but reading a few pages before bed is a good habit that will create consistency in your reading.

15. Read during your commute if you use public transportation or carpool. I love reading in the car, for some reason this can be the most relaxing place to read.

16. Reread books you know that you love. This may remind you what you love about reading and inspire you to read more!

17. Start a reading journal. I don't do this personally, but I know there are some people that get more from their reading if they can engage with it more by writing.

18. Read reviews before you start a book. Being more selective about the books you read may prevent you from disliking the books you plan to read and ultimately, losing interest in reading altogether.

19. Read what you feel like reading. This is a big one! I don't read something I had planned to read if I no longer feel like reading it. Even if I have books on my shelf that I bought but haven't read yet, I only read them when I want to read them. This will keep you from getting burned out on reading. It's supposed to be fun! Don't treat it like a chore!

20. Maybe the most important step to reading more: scrolling less. Most often, this is where all my time is going if I am not careful! I can easily spend four hours a day on social media (reading captions and other text I will forget soon after) and say I have no time to read!

21. Take the pressure off! If your reading goal feels like work and not fun, reassess your goal and figure out how to make it less intimidating. If reading 20 books a year feels like pressure, change it to 5. Most importantly, don't take the fun away from the thing you enjoy!

how to
1

About the Creator

Holly Rae

Hi, I’m Holly! I am a stay-at-home mom and freelance writer for hire. To inquire about my writing services, contact me at [email protected]. You may also show your support by tipping here on Vocal.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.