Geeks logo

I'm addicted to TikTok

Don't judge me

By Gabriella Published 4 years ago 3 min read
4

TikTok is an App where you can share short videos. More specifically videos of approx. 15 seconds in mobile format. The App is well known for it's features and functions: for example to place music over a video while recording and for it’s viral trends, that user can easily reenact with one click.

I downloaded it sometime last year to use some of these functions as the app provides some really cool features for creating videos. I never viewed it as a social network until I joined a webinar about online marketing. They mentioned TikTok and I was surprised, as I has thought “this app is for dancing 13-year-olds”, but they explained how it offered the possibility to created relevant videos and circulate them. No dancing needed. And, the age of average the person was significantly higher than 13 years after most of the world has been placed under a lockdown,

The social media usage of almost anyone has skyrocketed. As a consequence, I noticed more and more TikTok Videos appearing on my Social Media. As I already had the app I relaunched again and I made a silly dancing video.

I am addicted now...

Now I have seen a lot of criticism surrounding the “meaninglessness” of dance crazes and mainstream trends in general.

People argue that these apps are a waste of time and intelligence, and basically slag it off.

This period we are currently facing is extremely weird and can be very frustrating, lonely and unhappy for many people. People have different coping mechanisms in different situations and that is something I would like to underline today.

Yes, I agree, now is a great time to be productive, to be creative and establish great daily routines to benefit every aspect of your life once things go back to normal. But not everyone will have the drive and motivation during uncertain times.

Throughout my life I have been experienced many periods and moods in which I was able to embrace. When I finished school I played GTA all day, everyday for nearly a month. When I was saving up money to travel, I worked 5 jobs and have no days off. When I was travelling I didn’t know what day of the week it was for many months and I had a partying phase where I basically turned into a nocturnal animal.

Now, down the line, I am very disciplined and motivated to get up early, workout, read, write, work and create. It makes me happy. My life has changed. But those phases were character building. Why? Because they allowed me to learn what it felt like and I was able to move on.

Productivity, success and progression look very different on different people. Some people may choose to take on reading and learn a new skill, some may want to learn meditation and become closer with their inner self and some may just want to watch Netflix all day or become TikTok Stars.

Ssshhh, let people enjoy things.

TikTok is a place that is so much more forgiving than my other social networks when it comes to content. At least I feel a lot less intimidated to try and be funny and dont feel so pressured to achieve perfection.

I have been uploading videos every day, each day feeling more confident and more inspired to make content. I think TikTok allows me to express myself in a much more comedic way than anywhere else at the moment. Yes, I it's not Rocket Science I'm learning, but I am having a lot of fun.

Original and unique content might not be successful, as the circulation of content is very much based on trends. But simultaneously it is very easy for anyone to jump on it and recreate a trend.

Ultimately, people need to have fun. And that is very meaningful. If you enjoy creating videos and comedic scenes, doing magic tricks or learning easy dance routines, you shouldn’t feel guilty for enjoying yourself. People need distraction.

When you slander something because you don’t think it is intellectually challenging or beneficial, you miss the chance to participate in something fun. And you seem like a hater.

People are multifaceted and can do many things at the same time. Limiting yourself to doing only academic and prestigious things doesnt make you more worthy of success. Respect peoples desire for recovery and recreation and just keep in the back of your mind that you might require something "meaningless" sometime. It's called Balance, Love.

I hope you enjoyed reading this and feel inspired to do something you were afraid to do before. Thank you for your support. Stay safe and keep dancing. With Love, Gabriella.

social media
4

About the Creator

Gabriella

I have 1000 dreams and I'm completing them one by one.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.