Geeks logo

I can be what I want to be in my own little corner

I know of a spot in my house where no one can stand in the way.

By Cheryl E PrestonPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
6
My bookshelf in my corner

In 1965, I was 7 years old and watched Rodgers and Hamrtstein’s musical version of Cinderella for the first time. My maternal great grandmother and I were in the tiny living room of our home enjoying this program on our black and white television set. This one hour special presentation was aired annually for quite some time and I eagerly looked forward to watching it each year. One of my favorite moments in the program, which now is a fond memory is when Leslie Ann Warren as Cinderella sings “ In my own little corner.” Her imagination soars in this special location where she sits among the cinders. It’s a private place no one can harm her. She pretends she is so many things to take her mind off of her current situation. The beginning lyrics to the song follow and are in italics.

Im as mild and as meek as a mouse

When I hear a command I obey.

But I know of a spot in my house

where no one can stand in my way.

In my own little corner in my own little chair

I can be whatever I want to be.

On the wings of my fancy I can fly anywhere

and the world will open its arms to me.

In the southwestern corner of my bedroom is my special place where I can be whatever I want to be. I have one of several bookcases I own in this space with about 40 books on it. You cannot see my chair in the photo because I am seated in it. I have my philodendron plant on top of the shelf and I am so proud of it. This plant came from a single leaf that I cut from a larger plant and it is growing very well. with 14 new leaves so far. Philodendron’s are great for purifying the air of toxins and also promoting relaxation.

I also have my changing color Himalayan salt lamp on the top shelf. These are also supposed to clean the air and bring a sense of calm. As I sit in my chair I slowly breath in through my nose and out slowly out through my mouth several times. With my eyes closed I imagine that I am climbing the Himalayan mountains and breathing in the fresh air. I pretend my plant is a tree in the Rain Forrest and I am standing there drinking in the oxygen. (More lyrics to My own little corner follow).

I'm a young Egyptian princess or a milkmaid

I'm the greatest prima donna in Milan

I'm an heiress who has always had her silk made

By her own flock of silkworms in Japan

I'm a girl men go mad for love's a game I can play with a

cool and confident kind of air.

Just as long as I stay in my own little corner

All alone in my own little chair.

In my mind my bookshelf is a vast wall to wall library filled with the treasures of printed words. As I read my books I actually feel as if I am in the story and experiencing what the characters are going through. Since childhood I’ve had the ability to tune out everything else when reading an interesting story. By the time I am finished, up to several hours may have gone by but to me it seems like only a few moments. Of course it’s rare for me to find many two hour blocks of time but when I do it’s appreciated. My photo is my bookshelf as is. I did not tidy it up because I wanted it to look natural.

Cinderella alone in her corner chair

That’s the beauty of my own space. I can keep it slightly messy if I so desire because it’s private and it’s mine. I usually have a snack and some purified water when I’m reading. This is a habit from childhood to have something crunchy to eat and a drink while I enjoy a good book. I think everyone should have a personal spot inside their home where they can relax and be themselves. I truly love letting my imagination run wild and free while I’m alone in my own little corner. I can travel the world and even the universe reading a great story and using my imagination. The most wonderful thing about it is I don’t even have to leave home to do so.

( The final lyrics to Cinderella’s song).

In my own little corner in my own little chair

I can be whatever I want to be.

I'm a thief from Calcutta I'm a queen in Peru.

I'm a mermaid dancing upon the sea

I'm a huntress on an African safari.. it's a dangerous type of sport and yet it's fun

In the night I sally forth to seek my quarry

And I find I forgot to bring my gun.

I am lost in the jungle all alone and unarmed when I meet a lioness in her lair

Then I'm glad to be back in my own little corner,

All alone in my own little chair.

humanity
6

About the Creator

Cheryl E Preston

Cheryl is a widow who enjoys writing about current events, soap spoilers and baby boomer nostalgia. Tips are greatly appreciated.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.