Geeks logo

'Hustlers' Review—Entertaining and Sexy

No spoilers!

By Jonathan SimPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

When I watched this movie at my local theater, I was dressed in a suit. And a few minutes in, I realized that I looked EXACTLY like the Wall Street assholes getting seduced by the strippers in the movie.

And that’s when I realized I was sitting in a really turned-on position. And that’s when I shrunk to the ground in despair.

Here We Go!

Hustlers is a crime comedy-drama written and directed by Lorene Scafaria. The movie is based on a true story of a crew of strippers in New York City who start to use their sexuality to rob wealthy businessmen of thousands of dollars.

Now, two weeks ago, if you had told me that I wouldn’t like The Goldfinch and I would LOVE Hustlers, I’d have laughed in your damn face. But you can go ahead and laugh at my stupid face now because I loved this movie. And for none of the perverted reasons you may expect from a guy who watched the movie alone in a suit.

Let’s start with the performances: Jennifer Lopez is incredible in this movie. She is very charismatic and energetic in her role and she feels very real in this role. You can also tell that Lopez spent a lot of time mastering pole dancing, as there’s a pole dancing scene that she did a great job with.

Another standout for me is Constance Wu, who I thought was fantastic. The scenes that stuck out for me were her crying scenes, as her character has a lot of really emotional moments, and her crying looked so real that I very nearly forgot I was watching a performance.

Cardi B is in this movie for about five minutes, and she acts… exactly how you’d expect Cardi B to act.

This movie is also really entertaining. The conversations are very well-written and natural, and they have a decent amount of charm to them, especially the scenes where our characters are just sitting and talking. These scenes felt so real that I forgot that I was watching actresses.

I also loved the soundtrack in this movie. The musical choices really stick out and the songs really complement certain scenes very well, and another quality that I really liked about the film was its diversity.

There are many characters in this movie and their ethnicities range from white to black to Hispanic to Asian, and the movie depicts everyone treating each other with a lot of genuine love and respect, which I really liked watching.

However, this movie had some flaws. Firstly, the second act of the movie could feel a bit repetitive, as it simply showed the girls seducing and robbing the Wall Street guys over and over again, and even though it wasn’t boring, the actual story wasn’t being moved forward during these scenes.

While there are many good-looking scenes in the movie, some scenes don’t feel very well-directed. For example, the dialogue scenes between Wu and Julia Stiles’ characters look a bit strange, almost as if the shots of each of them were filmed at different times.

This film is still very well-made. You get to like the characters a lot, and while there are a ton of really funny scenes and enjoyable moments, the movie also doesn’t shy away from showing some of the more dramatic elements of the events.

Because even though the film is fun to watch, the actions that our characters are performing are pretty heinous, and there is a great scene in the movie where this is conveyed to the audience, and it also showed how out-of-touch with reality Lopez’s character was.

Overall, Hustlers is an incredibly fun watch. It has great performances from Lopez and Wu, some very funny scenes, and some very dramatic parts throughout, and it is really entertaining.

It has some issues here and there, but I had a great time watching it… and it’s not just because I watched pole dancing and stripping in a dark room while wearing a suit. Just… STOP JUDGING ME!

I’m gonna give Hustlers an 8/10 (B+).

So anyways, when I noticed that I was sitting in a turned on position, I started to smile because of how weird I looked. And that’s when I realized I looked even more perverted.

Damn.

review
Like

About the Creator

Jonathan Sim

Film critic. Lover of Pixar, Harry Potter, Star Wars, Marvel, DC, Back to the Future, and Lord of the Rings.

For business inquiries: [email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.