Geeks logo

How Much Do I Love Barbie? (No Spoiler Review which is just an appreciation for Barbie. I love you Barbie)

5/5 - A movie for the ages

By Annie KapurPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
3

When I was a little girl, I owned everything Barbie that you could think of. Airplane, wardrobe, car, MyScene Dolls, wallpaper, I even had Barbie shoes - everything... Greta Gerwig has created something incredibly special. It is a movie for every single Barbie fan in the entire universe. It doesn't matter whether you played with Barbie when she was a brand new toy, whether like me, you played with her in the 90s and 2000s, or whether your children are still playing with her now - Barbie is the greatest doll of all time. Greta Gerwig and Margot Robbie are here to show us why, how and exactly what it means to be a Barbie Doll.

The movie is about growing up with Barbie and I think that for anyone who ever played with Barbie, who ever knew Barbie who ever had a Barbie anything - this is really important. I was scoffing down popcorn to stop myself from crying because honestly, this was the most nostalgic I had felt in years. Barbie had finally come to life in the exact way I knew her to be. Margot Robbie is Barbie and Barbie is Margot Robbie. I have always loved her (I have a poster of her portrayed as Sharon Tate in Tarantino's Once Upon a Time in Hollywood next to a Bob Dylan tour poster of mine in my room) and she is brilliant. Yes, she has had a few misses, but so does everyone. If you had a terrible year at work, please imagine how you would feel and then times that by a billion because everyone is always reporting on it all the time. Exactly.

Just before the movie I was talking about how much I wish that it wasn't overhyped and - as a surprise to absolutely nobody - it was not overhyped and I would be more than happy to watch that movie again, and again, and again...

That movie with its whimsy and its brilliant portrayal of the doll-world perfectly over-dubbed by Helen Mirren, transported every 20 and 30- something back to the doll world they knew when they were little, even as far as Margot Robbie not using the stairs, but jumping from the roof down to the bottom floor and into the car, as many girls like me did with their Barbie dolls. There is an affinity between the girls and their Barbie Dolls that the film explores that maybe, won't appeal to the boys but that's okay, there's a whole storyline for discovering who Ken is and why he exists. Ken is a whole other deal - if you were a Barbie fan, you know that Ken is a whole character with his own identity and that is what the Barbie film seeks to explore (and I hope, films in the future also explore, here's Greta Gerwig).

Needless to say that for my mother, who was not born in this country but knew of the Barbie Doll, for me, her daughter who played and loved the Barbie Doll so very much (Sasha how dare you talk to Barbie like that!) and for the girls who will come after me who will love and adore Barbie that very special way I did, This is the movie we have all been waiting for.

I remember watching those cartoon Barbie movies on VIHS every time they came out when a big Barbie was released. Barbie and the Magic of Pegasus was probably my favourite and Greta Gerwig, if you ever work that into a movie let me tell you-

So here's to the cultural significance of the Barbie movie. Here's to everything it stands for and continues to stand for. Here's to Margot, Greta and everyone who worked on making that movie a movie. If you disklike this movie let me tell you this: you are probably a person who needs to seek help in order to feel joy.

From the songs, to Ryan Gosling, to the guy from Marvel's Ten Rings, to Ugly Betty and her daughter to Elf, this is probabyl one of those films where I can honestly say this for real:

That hit me right in the childhood.

I think I cried at the end.

movie
3

About the Creator

Annie Kapur

200K+ Reads on Vocal.

Secondary English Teacher & Lecturer

🎓Literature & Writing (B.A)

🎓Film & Writing (M.A)

🎓Secondary English Education (PgDipEd) (QTS)

📍Birmingham, UK

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

Annie Kapur is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Become a pledged subscriber or send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.