Geeks logo

Hitchcock’s Most Superior and Nuanced Films - in mini 50 word free verse/reviews/critiques

Vertigo, Shadow of a Doubt, Marnie, Psycho, North by Northwest, Rear Window

By Grz ColmPublished 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 4 min read
13
Saul Bass opening titles with music composed by Bernard Herrmann

Quick note: As Alfred Hitchcock has always been my favourite film director from a young age - I thought it would be fun to comment on a few of my favourites, but not give too much away - perhaps whetting one’s appetite to seek out the films again. I’ve always found his films captivating. I remember watching “The Man Who Knew Too Much” and “Rear Window” on T.V when I was about seven or eight and repeatedly loving these. The combination of mystery, suspense and biting wit, along with likable characters that you root for from the get go.

Much of his films also include Freudian concepts and theories. Similarly, there is much thematic subtext in most of Hitchcock’s films - what isn’t said outright is often more intriguing and thought-provoking than what is. Of course, stunning images are alway on display - everything was planned before filming & storyboarded/drawn by Hitch himself down to the last visual details and shot types. Frequently paired with the renowned composer Bernard Herrmann has helped consolidate his films to the strastophere. Imitated for decades, but perhaps aside from a few films other directors can never capture the magic of Hitchcock’s filmography.

These reviews/critiques are 5o words (although counting isn’t my speciality). They are also more so very brief summaries with a quick critique of film techniques, characters, or a brief and slightly sardonic commentary on the story contained in the film.

*

“Vertigo” (1958) ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️

“One final thing I have to do... and then I'll be free of the past” - Scotty (James Stewart)

🌀

Perfect cinema with oodles of subtext -

High-spiralling sexual obsession,

leads to death,

which isn’t very good for Scotty’s acrophobia.

What really happens in the afterlife?

Has Madeleine returned?

Should we make people up in our desired image?

Sticky situations unfold,

Twist upon twist to

Hermann’s haunting & luscious violins.

🌀

The stunning opening titles of “Vertigo” 👆

“Shadow of a Doubt” (1943) ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️

“You'd think Mama had never seen a phone. She makes no allowance for science. She thinks she has to cover the distance by sheer lung power”.—Ann (Edna May Wonacott)

*

Hitch’s favourite of his films,

Uncle Charlie comes to stay,

Boy, is his niece Charlie glad,

She looks up to him with admiring eyes,

If only he wasn’t the Merry Widow Murderer!

The world’s a mad place,

Explores the duality between good and evil,

How, sometimes, they tend to overlap..

Both Charlie (Joseph Cotton) & Charlie (Teresa Wright) in Shadow of a Doubt

Marnie (1964) ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️

“You don't love me. I'm just something you've caught! You think I'm some sort of animal you've trapped!” - Marnie (Tippi Hedren)

*

An early exploration of OCD &

Sexual repression,

Dazzlingly represented through intrusive thoughts,

in the form of colours, sounds and objects.

Freud would have a field day,

With his interpretations of dreams.

Startling discoveries through the help of Sean Connery

might finally lead her to freedom.

Bernard Herrmann’s score certainly helps.

Marnie (Tippi Hedren) & Mark (Sean Connery)

Psycho (1960) ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️

“I think that we're all in our private traps, clamped in them, and none of us can ever get out. We scratch and we claw, but only at the air, only at each other, and for all of it, we never budge an inch.” - Norman (Anthony Perkins)

🦅

Mother has been very bad,

Poor Norman, just an innocent,

if only she wasn’t so overprotective,

if only Marion had gotten away with her crime,

BUT, we all have our cages &

those birds just

peck and peck - until we’re a whimpering mess -

if only a boy’s best-friend wasn’t his mother..

🦅

“North By NorthWest” (1959) ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️

“Apparently the only performance that will satisfy you is when I play dead”. - Roger Thornhill (Cary Grant)

*

A flagship film that paved the way

for the 007 Bond movies,

Mistaken identity sees Cary Grant

flock across the US to clear his name,

with the help of Kendall.

Don’t drink and drive!

Presidents finally put to good use! 😉

One of my Top 3 Bernard Herrmann classic scores*.

*Not apart of the 50 words, but you can play the opening title score in the cover video above. 👆

Hanging around Mount Rushmore in North By NorthWest

Rear Window (1954) ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️

We’ve become a race of peeping toms. What people ought to do is get outside their own house and look in for a change. -Stella (Thelma Ritter)

*

An apparent murder in an apartment complex

sends Scotty into voyeuristic overload!

Hitch’s stunning multi-layered soundscape is by turns

atmospheric, haunting and theatrical,

all paired with little snapshots

of people just leading their magnificent humdrum lives,

You cannot take your eyes from the screen,

We all like to to watch!

Lisa (Grace Kelly) & Jefferies (James Stewart)

Let me know which ones you have seen and enjoyed.

Thanks for reading. If you liked it, please consider hitting the heart, commenting or subscribing for more to encourage my future poems, short stories and reviews. Many thanks.

quotesvintagereviewmovie
13

About the Creator

Grz Colm

Film and TV reviews, 🎞 as well as short stories and free verse poems.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Marie Wilson3 months ago

    I love Hitchcock. I've seen all of his movies multiple times (except Juno & the Paycock - I couldn't get into it). Your reviews are fascinating & fun, just like the oeuvre of the great director!

  • The Lost Girl4 months ago

    perfect review my dear

  • Racharoonie4 months ago

    These are the best movie reviews ever! I love this. You’ve got to do more — I love how suspenseful they all are! This is how all movies should be reviewed. And lol, “counting is not my specialty” 😁

  • Kristen Balyeat4 months ago

    I haven't seen any of these movies, but your reviews are amazing! You are so good at the poetic critiques!!!! Great work, friend!

  • Vertigo, Psycho, North by Northwest, & Rear Window. Marvelously lyrical in your reviews, Grz!

  • Some great poetic reviews of wonderful films

  • k eleanor4 months ago

    Review in a poetry form...loved it! Alfred Hitchcock's movies are timeless masterpieces that continue to define the suspense and thriller genres. His unparalleled storytelling, innovative camera techniques, and meticulous attention to detail set a standard that many filmmakers aspire to reach. He is my favourite too.

  • Novel Allen4 months ago

    I have seen most of them, I loved to watch Hitchcock films, he was way ahead of his time. Psycho...I may or may not have seen, don't remember. Did not see Marnie, I think. I would gladly watch them again. Hitchcock with his deadpan narration and sharp wit. This was great. I saw some when they upgraded to color too. If only Marion had gotten away with it.

  • Don't come for me with the pitchforks and torches but I've watched any of these movies 😅 "if only a boy’s best-friend wasn’t his mother.." This line was what stood out to me the most. Iykyk 🤣🤣🤣 I loved that you did this! Especially in poetic forms!

  • Mariann Carroll4 months ago

    I love how you put your review/critique in poetry form ❤️👏🏽

  • Babs Iverson4 months ago

    Wonderful critique on vintage Hitchcock movies!!! Love it!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Shirley Belk4 months ago

    I so remember Alfred Hitchcock when we only had a black and white tv. (Yes, I'm as old as dirt.) I remember going to the movies to see most of these movies, but can't truly remember but a few scenes and the feelings of intrigue and anxiety. I need to have a marathon of them soon. I enjoyed your story very much.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.