Geeks logo

Grey's worthy

The drama, the medicine, but mostly the drama

By Hope AckerlyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Grey's anatomy has been a long standing show with 17 seasons following the character Meridith Grey. It begins with her and a few other main characters becoming interns together at Seattle Grace Mercy West Hospital. I began watching this back when it first came out and have stayed vigiliant in doing so. I call it my guilty pleasure show because whenever I feel anxious or stuck Meridith comes calling like an old friend to help me find refuge in the angst of my depression or anxiety.

This show has got everything from bombs exploding, to romantic relationships sizzling and fizzling, to deaths of beloved characters. Now it may not take place in a fantasy world like Game of thrones but this show has just as much tension and fighting as that. Everyday the characters reveal more and more exciting things about themselves, show just how badly they want to become surgeons and have full out "lion fights" in order to become the best.

One of my favorite characters is Christina Yang played by Sandra Oh, she is spectacular. I felt like growing up I was always a determined child despite my rough upbringing which made me feel more close to Alex Karev, Justin Chambers. But Christina showed a resilience in the show that proved that nothing can take your true passion away from you. Her strong mind becomes a role model to many women who have felt inspired to be more like that character. Even when things brought her down, changed her character and created such a depth of development she remained true to herself and her reason Why. If I could have a best friend that was half the badass as her I believe that I would be an unstoppable force and that character helped Meridith, Ellen Pompeop become a true force.

The way this show has shown that even from the darkest things light can be shed and openness and love can create so much more. The evolution of Meridith and her story to Alex and his story show a true quality to the human existence. Even if it's tv these characters have shown the work put in will give you so much in return. All you have to do is take the first steps.

So yes this is my guilty pleasure show because it's comfort, it's inspiring because it always tackles societal issues and because I have grown attached to the characters themselves. Like a distant family, a distant dream friendships and I get to be pulled into the world. Over the years I hid this secret pleasure of mine for so long because I would get made fun of by people in my family. It wasn't until I found myself that I learned not to care if I love this show or not. I also learned that my dads gf and my bf mother both love the show and gives me so much to talk to them about.

For a long time I was shamed because guilty pleasure means that it isn't worthy of being said aloud. I had this mentality that I had to follow what society deamed worthy and "in." It wasn't until I finally did the work on myself that I realized it doesn't matter what anyone says, just what matters to you. So guilty pleasure? Or is it something that has become a part of me. from hearing one of the songs and remembering a scene of the show, to seeing how the actor would say the next thing. Greys anatomy taught me that it's up to me to follow my compass and yes it can be tempting to give up on it, but if you really want it then anything is possible.

tv
Like

About the Creator

Hope Ackerly

I write a blog at daretohabit.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.