Geeks logo

Game of thrones wasn't a fail!

We were successfully scammed and here's why.

By Alessia MavakalaPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
3

Despite the scandalous negative reviews the last season received, shame is no longer part of my vocabulary, therefore, I can finally admit that binge watching Game of thrones is my still guilty pleasure.

It is no secret that the eight season of Game of Thrones is the most hated TV production ever; till today, it’s considered the biggest flop released by HBO, David Benioff and D.B. Weiss were accused of being bad writers and people started petitions demanding a remake of the last season. We can all agree that there were several undeniable mistakes that left us wondering whether the absence of the books written by George R.R. Martin led them to write nonsensical scenes or if after almost ten years of working on the same project they got tired and said ‘you know what? I have better things to do’.

We’ll probably never know as the team insists in believing the last season was beyond perfection, however, the Starbuck cup strategically inserted in a medieval Fantasy TV show in front of our queen Emilia Clarke, for financial profit, was just a slap in the face to all the fans and I need to say that I was hugely disappointed.

Not to mention the random white horse that Arya Stark found in the 'ashy' King's landing. Did I miss something or the only positive thing about that scene was that it was pleasant to watch? The poetic tone of the scene made me think that was going to be her last moments on screen but my assumption was wrong, respectfully. As we know, we see her again a few moments later listening and observing the malefic Targaryen speech.

I’m sure that after dragging ‘the best Tv show ever’ as everyone did for the past two years, you are wondering why I still binge watch such an ‘horrendous’ creation.

Well, the reason is that I don’t think it was horrendous, at all. At first glance it might seem that everyone hated the last season of Game of Thrones but in reality, it was all propaganda.

Ever heard of the Bandwagon effect? It’s a psychological term that states that an individual is highly influenced by the actions of people within the same group, therefore, are more likely to adopt the same behaviour or belief, despite their inner disapproval.

A random Instagram page claims that the last season of Game of Thrones is trash, while convincing us that their world view is right? Everyone believes it, as the innate human desire to belong to a group wins. This is called informational conformity.

It’s all about the reputation. When Game of thrones was still considered a prestigious creation, I loved shouting to the world about my love for the show and about the fact that I was the number one fan. I used to walk into my classroom and look down on people who never watched an episode or struggled to understand the narrative because it was 'boring'.

This to me was a sign of inferiority, not to be rude but how can you possibly find Game of Thrones boring? And how can you not understand the narrative while no detail is left to the case? I used to assume that if you didn’t understand you were kind of weird.

I just loved being part of the popular crew, the cool kids who adored dragons, dire wolves, a silver haired Khaleesi and an icy deadly dead king AKA the Night King.

Let me not go into details about the fact that the thrill of seeing my favourite characters die slightly killed me season after season but made me feel powerful at the same time. Can other TV show lovers survive the death of the protagonists? I think not. Only Game of Thrones fans can, the ones who still care about it.

But once the show lost popularity it meant that the lovers were now losers while the haters became cool. I wanted to be cool, not a loser, I wanted to join the winning team and I did. The approval of strangers on the internet felt good while the public shame of not approving was just not worthy. Not at the time, where, according to popular belief, Jamie Lannister's character development was destroyed in a single scene, Bran becoming king was a dumb decision and Daenerys narcissistic rage was random and chaotic.

I agree, burning King's landing was extremely chaotic and evil but I believe Daenerys already warned us when saying 'I will take what is mine with fire and blood'. No, I don't believe she planned that at all but there was always a chance for that to happen.

I no longer feel like hiding so if you are also a secret lover, I encourage you to come forward. Bear in mind, you will be judged and shamed.

tv
3

About the Creator

Alessia Mavakala

Hey, I'm a filmmaker and I also love acting. Writing is my passion. I love interior design, good food and I believe self care is a form of art.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.