Geeks logo

FROZEN II For Children Or Adults?

Review Article

By RosePublished 4 years ago 4 min read
1

WARNING SPOILERS!!!

The 2013 blockbuster hit kids movie Frozen released in 2013 which sent children and adults screaming "let it go" for months on end. Now six years later where the original film is still adored and loathed by many has produced its sequel Frozen II into cinemas around the globe.

Being the child in me, my friend and I decided to go see this Disney wonder together in cinemas. I was in dire need of a Disney movie, something heartwarming and cute that would burst all the negative thoughts out as I had just finished my final year at schooling and had felt I had also failed miserably in all my auditions to get into University acting programs. So I honestly have no idea of my plans next year or if I will still go to university. The biggest thing that really scared me is that I knew everything was going to change and I felt stuck not knowing what to do.

My friend and I made the decision and pinky-swear promise that we would go see this iconic movie together like little kids still secretly dreaming of escaping reality and going on a huge adventure.

Let's just say Frozen honestly just gave me a little slap to the face (in a good way).

the opening number "all is Found" sung by the Queen, Elsa and Anna's mother holds the key to aid the sister in their journey which lays ahead. However, the message conveyed in this song is also a strong powerful message that could be taught to many adults. One way to interpret the message of the song is conveyed in the lyric "dive down deep into her sound, but not too far or you'll be drowned," send the message to audience that even though the past can hold many memories, some good, some bad, however, we should never lose ourselves dwelling too much on the past as we will forge to see what is in the present. Additionally, the lyrics "when all is lost, then all is found," are quite obvious in its hidden message, which is that sometimes when everything is lost, it is the best opportunity to rebuild and find something new.

The second opening song, Somethings Never Changed within the first ten minutes of the movie was where it slowly began to hit. The song conveys the idea about "growing older" which is something that has really hit this year making my jump from school life to adult life. I always felt constantly pounded by the idea that change is always a good thing, however, this song seems to turn this idea around. Instead, the message conveyed in the song also promoted the idea of being grateful for the things that won't change, like the support of our friends, family and those who support us.

I'm sure many of us are starting to hate the lyric "into the unknown" but once again Disney hits its adult viewers with the message that is well overdue to once again be heard and heeded. In the opening of the song, Elsa is battling against something that is being called to her..... Just like how some adults battle their calling and instead of running and refrain from things, like going to study at university, going for that next big job, taking a big step in a relationship. Basically not living because we have become afraid of the unknown. This idea is clearly seen within the lyric "I can hear you but I won't" and the lyrics "I'm afraid of what I'm risking if I follow you." It's time to not to be so afraid of the future and what we would lose rather we should look towards what we will gain.

Even though no one dies in Disney anymore other than the parents of the of a princess. Some truly dark and deep themes were explored around the idea of grief and the struggle to move on. I especially love how the writers highlight and capture the feeling of grief so well within the lyrics:

"I've seen dark before, but not like this

This is cold, this is empty, this is numb

The life I knew is over, the lights are out

Hello, darkness, I'm ready to succumb"

For me, the song not only highlights the idea of grief but also the idea of pulling yourself out of the feeling of depression and to "do the next right thing." Therefore the message to the audience greatly impacts upon older viewers as they relate to the feeling of having to carry on even when they don't want to.

Frozen presents to their audience not only the simple messages that are iconic to Disney such as kindness and the idea of being a hero, but also a deeper more complex themes that hopefully we only understand the full meaning of until we are older. So really FRozen isn't just for adults.

PS for those who were wondering if turtles can breathe through their butts, yes, yes they can.

movie
1

About the Creator

Rose

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.