Geeks logo

For Love of That One Guy

A Psych-O Look at A Million Little Things

By Paula ShabloPublished 3 years ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
10
James Roday Rodriguez and Dule Hill

Television fell off my radar in the 1990s. I was a single mother holding down two and sometimes three jobs, chasing or chauffering the teenagers around town and trying to get some sleep.

Who had time for television?

Things started to calm down a bit in the 2000s, and I decided to subscribe to cable service for the first time in over a decade. I picked out a couple of shows to record while I worked and attended college--I was a late bloomer--and re-entered the TV world.

My first discovery was having over a hundred channels did NOT mean a lot of choices, because most of what was on one channel was also being offered on ten others channels. And none of it was worth much of my attention.

I graduated in 2006 with a degree--largely useless--in animation and graphic design. I had only one job. Suddenly, my evenings were free.

What to do, what to do?

I discovered a new television offering on USA network. "Psych" was different than anything else I had seen up to that point. Although I am not a fan of comedy shows, this was a wacky mixture of comedy, drama, mystery and crime that shouldn't have worked but somehow struck a balance that made it a joy to watch.

Also, there was Sean Spencer, played by James Roday (Now James Roday Rodriguez). The character was quirky and likable. I started to fan-girl a bit and discovered that the actor was every bit as quirky and likable.

I was sad when the show ended, and like other Psych-Os, I kept up with what the actor was doing. The musical and two movies followed, and I scheduled time for all three.

Life happened, and I found myself off television's radar again as I took care of an ailing parent and watching mostly old westerns when I watched at all. We did what he liked, and I didn't feel like I was missing anything, because in all that time I still felt like "A hundred channels and nothing to watch" was the go-to TV situation.

In the midst of it all, it escaped my attention that James Roday Rodriguez had been cast in a new show. When I discovered "A Million Little Things", it was already beginning its third season.

Grace Park, David Giuntoli, Stephanie Szostak, Ron Livingston, James Roday Rodriguez, Allison Miller, Romany Malco, Christina Moses

And here entered the magic of the internet and venues like Hulu. I have now streamed, binge watching, up to the middle of the second season, and once I catch up, I may actually watch the show on a television set.

Gary Mendez, Rodriguez's new character, is also quirky and likable. Beyond that, this is an entirely different sort of show. I don't believe I've had many occasions to laugh, but that character is the one who delivers the few that occur.

I cry a lot watching this one. But I love it.

My method of choosing what to watch, since I don't watch much, is to seek out actors and actresses I have enjoyed watching in the past and looking for other things they've done or are now doing. This is my own "If this, then that" roadmap to discovering television shows, movies and music.

It is also how I make recommendations to others. "Did you like so-and-so in this-or-that? You did? Well, you should check out this movie/tv show/play."

I am much more likely to take another's recommendation based on past performances by those I know, too. Alice Cooper released a new album? I'm in. Emma Watson made a new movie? I will check it out. Zac Braff has a podcast? Okay.

This isn't always the way I make my choices. Like everyone, I see commercials sometimes that catch my interest. I read reviews. But if I liked Arnold Schwarzenneger in "Terminator", I'm probably going to watch him in "Junior". (Yes, I regretted that! But, you can't win 'em all!)

Sometimes this approach works well. Most times, actually. But you're going to run into some clinkers whatever course you take in planning your viewing choices.

If you like James Roday Rodriguez, and if you liked "Psych", you should check out "A Million Little Things", just because I said so. The rest of the cast may be familiar to you, and they are all excellent.

Enjoy!

tv
10

About the Creator

Paula Shablo

Daughter. Sister. Mother. Grandma. Author. Artist. Caregiver. Musician. Geek.

(Order fluctuates.)

Follow my blog at http://paulashablo.com

Follow my Author page at https://www.amazon.com/Paula-Shablo/e/B01H2HJBHQ

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Veronica Coldironabout a year ago

    I just added A Million Little Things to my watch list. I was so sad when Psyche ended, I bought all the badly written books to get more. LOL! Totally worth it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.