Geeks logo

Facebook went to hell

Using Celebrity Identities to Scam Lonely People

By Shanon Marie Clare Angermeyer NormanPublished 5 days ago 3 min read
Like
This is how I feel after visiting Fakebook

Mark Zuckerburg, I don't know if you sold out or if you just don't care anymore. Facebook has gone to hell. I've never seen it this bad in all the years I've been visiting that site. I used to love your website. I used to have great chats with friends and new people. I used to love the memes and political banter. I even thought that marketing options for businesses was a great addition and the share and send to Facebook links were wonderful for awhile. But now, it's all trash. It's all ruined. I have deleted my account so many times and then with some sad pathetic lonely hope I return and reinstate my account only to be tragically disappointed at how bad it is now.

It's become a haven for scammers. Identity thieves who use celebrity photos and pretend to be people like Keanu Reeves, Johnny Depp, and especially Charlie Hunnam. Those victimized celebrities are having their names and faces dragged through the mud so that some unethical telemarketer can basically chat some lonely pathetic soul like me into buying them gift cards or sending them money. It's horrible. I did not get scammed with the celebrity routine, but I did get scammed by a nobody name and now you simply can't trust Facebook or anyone there unless you really know the person. "Don't talk to Strangers" - Rick Springfield used to sing. Well, that song is very relevant to the likes of Fakebook.

It makes me wonder how many people are getting scammed. The posts are so cheesy and ridiculous and they prey on lonely women mostly. Poor lonely souls sitting all alone in front of a computer hoping for a compliment or some genuine attention from a handsome courter. But it's all lies. It's just a scam, and it's very tragic. Breaking hearts for a $50 gift card. The lack of morality and ethics is so blatantly obvious that even though I didn't get scammed and I block them immediately as soon as they bring up requests for money, it still breaks my heart to see what Facebook (FaKebook) has become.

Warning. Drop Facebook. The same thing will happen to TikTok and Instagram. It's only a matter of time before the scammers use all of the social media sites for their unethical greedy tactics.

Once upon an internet time all we had for free social time was Social Media sites and Facebook was the leader. No more. Tik Tok addicts are just waiting to be the next victim of Social Media telemarketing scams. Another warning to sad pathetic lonely souls: If they ask you to go to Zangi or Telegram, they either want sex or money. They just don't want to be tracked or reported. Be safe online. Scammers have taken over. Chat rooms like AOL chat or the old days when Facebook was innocent, are a thing of the past that only us computer geeks who still use a Jitterbug phone and know how to type on a real keyboard with a mouse can see. It's just another thing to add to the nostalgic list of bygones, like a great Thunderbird car or a Sit n Spin toy that brought joy to the kids.

Goodbye Fakebook. I've got enough hell to deal with in my poor miserable life. I don't need to be taunted and scammed by your subscribers. As for Zuckerburg, one has to wonder if he ever saw this coming. I guess Disney's faux paus are not the only tragic demise we from the past have had to witness.

reviewsocial mediaindustryfact or fictioncelebrities
Like

About the Creator

Shanon Marie Clare Angermeyer Norman

Published Writer and Artist.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.