Geeks logo

Disney Magic

How Disney Movies Create Happiness

By Baillie BakerPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Disney Magic
Photo by Brian McGowan on Unsplash

Disney movies. We love them, yes or yes?

As a child, I adored Walt Disney movies. Every Sunday night at 7 o’clock my family would sit down in front of our floor model television and watch a Walt Disney movie. It was the highlight of my entire week. Not just because my two sisters and I would be cuddled under a blanket with snacks, but because there was nothing better than the anticipation of which Disney movie would be aired that week.

Pretty sure this is where my obsession began with movies in general.

But back to Disney...How do you pick a favorite, and is that even possible. From the beginning, Walt Disney movies captivated audiences alike.

The first 5 Disney movies released:

  1. 1938 - Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs
  2. 1940 - Pinocchio
  3. 1940 - Fantasia
  4. 1941 - Dumbo
  5. 1942 - Bambi

The crazy part is, fast forward almost 70 years, and these movies are still loved by children today.

What is it that appeals to us during our developing years, and stays with us creating nostalgic emotional attachments throughout our lifetime. Is it the characters? The music? The storyline? Whatever it is, they have it down to a science on how to create a long lasting emotional connection. Well done Disney!

As it goes, my all time favorite Disney movie would have to be The Little Mermaid. How did I relate to this? Am I a mermaid? Nope. Am I a princess? I mean yes, but again, no. Have I felt displaced or a feeling of being an outsider? Absolutely. Well there is my emotional attachment to the film. I’ve always felt like I don’t belong, somewhat of the black sheep in my family. I’m always searching for something more, somewhere else, with the notion that my Charming might be out there...somewhere. Cue the music… Go on and... Kiss the Girl!

Let's take a minute to recognize the symbolic quotes that have uplifted our spirits and helped guide us through tough times. If you’re anything like me, when I’m down and out I resort to Disney music and quotes that help lighten my mood. Quotes like:

  1. “If you can’t say something nice, don’t say nothing at all” – Bambi
  2. “The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Do you understand?” – Pirates of the Caribbean
  3. “The past can hurt. But the way I see it, you can either run from it or learn from it” – The Lion King
  4. “I don’t want to survive. I want to live” – WALL-E
  5. “You must not let anyone define your limits because of where you come from. Your only limit is your soul” – Ratatouille
  6. “I never look back, darling. It distracts me from the now” – The Incredibles

I take note of messages in movies, especially Disney movies. I have always tried to apply these messages to my own life. They can help empower, educate and assist us in our life’s purpose. Words are incredibly powerful for the mind and can help to define our character; who we are, would like to be, or become. I know, that being said, words can also crush our spirits but when working on yourself, it’s best to keep it in the positive. Disney helps with that.

Does anyone else clean their homes to Disney music, or is that just me in all my weirdness. I’m not sure why, or when it started but when I do any chores around my house I instantly turn on the Disney tunes. My children laugh at me, but for some reason, chores become easy when listening to these fun songs!

  • “You’re Welcome” Moana
  • “One Jump Ahead” Aladdin
  • “Hakuna Matata” Lion King
  • “Let It Go” Frozen
  • “Kiss the Girl” The Little Mermaid
  • “The Bare Necessities” The Jungle Book

I guess, at the end of the day I am thankful for all the positive feelings and vibes associated with Disney magic. Honestly, how lucky are we to be able to access Disney+ now. It’s happiness in just a few simple clicks. Bring the family together and bunker down to watch your old favorites, or instead, one of the wonderful new releases to Disney.

Take some time to feel like a kid again. Baske in the familiarity of your favorite characters and sing along to your favorite songs. Your younger self will thank you!

movie
Like

About the Creator

Baillie Baker

Happiness is an inside job. Trying to maintain peace within myself by writing. Thank you for reading.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.