Geeks logo

City Lights (1931)

1001 Movies to See Before You Die (Schneider, J.S, Smith, I.H)

By Annie KapurPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

In this article, we will be looking at 2019’s book “1001 Movies to See Before You Die” and going through each film in a random order that I have chosen. We will be looking at what constitutes this film to be on the list and whether I think this film deserves to be here at all. I want to make perfectly clear that I won’t be revealing details from this book such as analyses by film reporters who have written about the film in question, so if you want the book itself you’ll have to buy it. But I will be covering the book’s suggestions on which films should be your top priority. I wouldn’t doubt for a second that everyone reading this article has probably watched many of these movies anyway. But we are just here to have a bit of fun. We’re going to not just look at whether it should be on this list but we’re also going to look at why the film has such a legacy at all. Remember, this is the 2019 version of the book and so, films like “Joker” will not be featured in this book and any film that came out in 2020 (and if we get there, in 2021). So strap in and if you have your own suggestions then don’t hesitate to email me using the address in my bio. Let’s get on with it then.

City Lights (1931) dir. by Charlie Chaplin

As a film that was released in the 1930s, it was very progressive and was called "the greatest single piece of acting ever committed to celluloid" by James Agee.

In 1991, this film was committed to the National Film Registry in the Library of Congress for being culturally significant. It has since been one of the most inspirational comedy films of all time for its mixture between genres of comedy, drama and romance.

Fun fact: I have a massive poster of this film on my bedroom wall because it is so brilliant.

“City Lights” (1931) is one of those films where when you first see it, it will probably make you see how interweaving genres became more popular in the 1930s. With the Great Depression round the corner and possibly creeping in on a lot of people, comedy was more than just required by the cinematic experience and who better to give you comedy than Charlie Chaplin? Exactly.

I watched this film when I was probably about twelve or so and honestly, from then on I absolutely adored it. I went on to research some history about the film and well, so many people, critics and audience, thought the same thing. This was also the first film I remember watching with Charlie Chaplin in it. Even though I know that I watched “Modern Times” before I watched “City Lights” but I cannot actually physically remember that far back, so here we are. I know I’m talking about my own experiences but this film has a neat little space in my heart because ever since then, I have been pretty much obsessed with the whole idea of Charlie Chaplin. I say ‘idea’ since I know that he is seen as a controversial figure because of his marriages etc. and his actions towards young girls especially in his later years. I say ‘idea’ because what I am obsessed with is his work, his screen presence and the way his work has been so influential over the years. He is a brilliant mind and we all have to admit that even though people see him as controversial, you cannot deny the man had a genius mind when it came to breaking genre, moving film into the next era of not falling into very specific categories.

Now you’ve heard my story about watching “City Lights” (1931) and since then, I have watched it many times and now that you know this, I want you to watch it or re-watch it. Notice how it makes the audience feel, notice how it makes the audience focus on very specific parts of the film making them, like the ending, super memorable and possibly one of the best scenes in cinematic history. It is a beautiful movie and I know I have not discussed the factual side, but there is so much I wanted to tell you about me and this movie since I have it on my wall, plus a number of other pictures of Charlie Chaplin on my walls. Thanks for reading.

movie
Like

About the Creator

Annie Kapur

200K+ Reads on Vocal.

English Lecturer

🎓Literature & Writing (B.A)

🎓Film & Writing (M.A)

🎓Secondary English Education (PgDipEd) (QTS)

📍Birmingham, UK

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.