Geeks logo

Bring on the Apocalypse

A life in The Walking Dead

By Kendra J. AnthonyPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
 Bring on the Apocalypse
Photo by Yohann LIBOT on Unsplash

When the novel corona virus hit the planet with its unfortunate stature, I couldn’t help but to feel a bantam of guilt. For years, I’ve been praying for an apocalypse, or rather, a sickness to wipe out this disastrous human race. It may be axiomatic to the people who have known and understand my ghoulish mind, but I am slightly obsessed with the idea of conveying a “Mad Max” or “Dawn of the Dead” type of world. Since the dawn of this apocalyptic plague, I’ve been on a binge with all the zombie shows out there. It has gone as far as watching the “The Walking Dead” (a thriller, drama created by Frank Darabont and Angela Kang in 2010) on repeat for damn near 10 months.

Art done for me by my brother Andrew Anthony (Axeman Andrew)

To be fair, I haven’t been able to continue work with my job since this all went down, come last spring. What else am I to do in my spare time beyond my school courses? What else am I to do in this self-isolation, this unremitting quarantine? That’s right, the only ethical thing is to revel in my minds-world of “what ifs”. What if this plague wipes out the world like that of The Walking Dead? What if this plague turns the world into a wasteland of survival? It’s the guilty pleasure of walking among the dead that sprinkles the twinkle in my eye. So I walk on, with the flesh eating creatures and the tactical survivalists of those in the binge-worthy series of The Walking Dead.

There has been times I’ve been caught in the act of dressing up as a wasteland survivalist, as embarrassing as this sounds, its not unheard of for a cosplay enthusiast like myself. Throwing myself around with a sword like that of Danai Gurira who plays the character Michonne; or pretending to eat the brains of my cat as if the raging zombie virus has taken over my own body and soul. I guess you could say I take this quarantine to another level, not all is glitter and gold, but it doesn't have to be boring either. It’s okay to be a little cringy.

As mentioned, I enjoy the aspect of surviving, this show really portrays that concept quite well. It’s not like other shows where you are just trying to live off the land, stuck on an island somewhere. I’d do that any day, I’d live off the land for fun. In the walking dead its more like the survival of the fittest, its the bad vs. the good, the dead vs. the living, its exciting! I’ll admit, it got repetitive during a couple seasons but I was always clinging to my seat for what came next. Especially in the last few seasons with Negan (Jeffrey Dean Morgan), or when I shed actual tears when Negan killed Glenn (Steven Yeun). And don’t get me started when Carl (Chandler Riggs) got bit and his time on the show came to an end. Normally television is just an aspect of life, I don’t normally feel emotions towards what isn’t real. But perhaps it just another “what if”, what if it does become real? What if the world as we know it, succumbs to a flesh eating reality? With this day and age, I wouldn’t doubt it. Perhaps that’s why I feel some sort of emotion towards these apocalyptic type shows. I mean, you never know, with the heartache and anguish we have all gone through this past year. It’d be the cherry on top.

tv

About the Creator

Kendra J. Anthony

She was a gnomist, a writer of beliefs.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Kendra J. AnthonyWritten by Kendra J. Anthony

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.