Geeks logo

Brief and not-so-brief opinions: Part 9

"I saw it a little while ago, but, um…yeah, I remember, uh, you know, it was…I liked it." -Carl from Enemy

By 'Vive AkughaPublished 8 days ago 3 min read
Image Credit: Posters from different sources

Wild Cards (CBC TV), Argylle, and Real Estate Sisters.

The 'brief and not-so-brief opinions' articles are my outlet to rant about or appreciate movies, shows and their elements. I will express my thoughts while watching and after or only after watching, it depends. I will not be rating. These are not spoiler-free for the most part and no research will be made for or about them(unless curious or accidental which would be mentioned). They are in no particular order of recent watching as well. However, the opinions are in order of viewing the movie or show (for the most part). This wouldn't be as structured or detailed as well and there would be no set number of picks per article, it would be just as things go. It is intended to be casual. So think, conversations about movie plots, characters, topics-so something like that. 

If you like this, you can get more of my articles when you subscribe to my account. Also, feel free to follow to comment with your opinions.

Wild Cards (2024)

Image Credit: Screenshot from CBC on YouTube

I like this duo, how comfy the show is, and Max's relationship with her father, George. The most enjoyable parts were watching her transformations and hearing her different accents. I wished they didn't reveal in the first episode that she had ulterior motives so it's not something you look forward to. It makes their bonding and romantic moments seem pointless especially with the warnings Ellis got. Sis really popped up with a husband hahaha. Well, he popped up after he ran away from a job he worked with her father but that aside. Max is truly something but I like how their stances changed when she always called them partners while he said they worked together but it changed in the last episode as her husband questioned her. I liked that they care about each other despite their continuous dance of creating distance between each other.

Like George, I wished she just lived her new life instead of going with the plan. I hated that Rachel was right, I wanted her to be hater haha. I like that Max loves her parents and her unconventional life. The show has some pretty absurd things in their cases which make it interesting. In the last episode, Max found out who killed his brother. I'm happy because he can get his revenge now since it's been haunting him. I'm hopeful for Season 2 to see if she will escape or stay to help him get revenge. Will Ellis pretend it never happened so they refocus? Will George and Olivier meet in prison? Will Rachel somehow come back? How will their relationship grow or die?

Argylle (2024)

Image Credit: Screenshot from Universal Pictures on YouTube

On my Letterboxd account:

Well…this was something. It's a frustratingly predictable watch but I like the ending. I have so many questions about the ending…so did she steal the real Argylle and Wyatt's story? Will she leave Aiden for Argylle? Is he a young version of what's to come?…so many possibilities with the ending. The movie (in my opinion) should have started with the ending with the entire thing as a summary.

Real Estate Sisters (2024)

Image Credit: Screenshot from Joburg Film Festival on YouTube

I feel bad for them. They are desperately chasing their dreams as they weigh the morality of reporting a dead man left by Stone who Lerato was dating. He swooped in to support her after she got recommended to work a receptionist job instead of being an agent. They closed their eyes to the red flags in hope for more out of life. Lerato runs her own business but they decide to work together after Malebo was fired. She could not get a tenant to pay his rent as requested by her boss but she felt uncomfortable comparing her job to being a loan shark. I like the support from their sisterhood. They eventually created the Maseko Sisters Holdings they dreamed about and had an office with several clients from the email Malebo's daughter worked on. Happy for them! Scattie looks like a version of Neil Patrick Harris to me. There are stereotypes, dreams, morals, and more in the story of these real estate sisters.

If you enjoyed this, for more of my articles:

reviewtvmovie

About the Creator

'Vive Akugha

I write on various things: social issues, well-being, cinema and out of curiosity. More!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    'Vive AkughaWritten by 'Vive Akugha

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.