Geeks logo

Brian O'Conner

Fast & Furious Tragedy

By AlPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
2
Dreamboat

It's the new millennium. Graphics are better than ever in movies, especially high effects car racing movies. The Fast and the Furious, after the video game from the precious and oh, so nostalgic nineties, comes to light in 2001.

I remember clear as day how the cover of the movie looked. My cousin was obsessed with some mystery man who played the lead in the film. I checked the cover out and next to Vin Diesel (very sexy man, himself) was an actor I wasn't familiar with. The picture distorted his features a bit and I told her, "Really? This guy? He is so not attractive." She sat me down and said we were going to watch this movie. All I needed was five minutes in to realize I was a jerk and this guy was handsome as ever! I'm sure I more likely used "hot" to describe him, with it being the early 2000's and all. She was in a very 'told you so' kind of mood, which was fine, because she sure did warn me that this guy was a heart-breaker.

Paul Walker played Brian O'Conner, the undercover, clean, white boy trying to fit in with the tough street racers who grew up taking care of themselves and each other. He played the part perfectly and the adrenaline from actually learning to race the cars and learn about everything that you see once the hood is popped hooked him for the rest of his life. He went on to star in six more 'Furious' movies.

In between the time of the franchise, Paul starred in one of my all time favorite Disney movies based on a true story, Eight Below. The movie consists of mainly him and the cast of eight pups who steal your heart. Moreover, Paul plays this character so dang well, I was already in love with him, too.

He was certainly my first hardcore celebrity crush. One of those see who he's dating, how old is his daughter, where does he spend his time, wow that girl is lucky to play his opposite in the movie, etc kind of crush. The level of crush was like, cut out his photos in teeny bopper magazines and create a collage along the wall, go to each of the 'Furious' premieres, watch all of his current and past films, my mom knew who I meant when I made comments like "my husband."

Paul Walker had this swagger about him, even when he was playing funny, dorky, or serious that just captivated you to focus your eyes on his. That wasn't just because they were this soft, sky blue, but because you knew he was sincere, without ever really knowing him. You can see that in Pleasantville where he even exceeds at being incredibly good looking in just black and white picture!

The movie Eight Below was a nice way to portray him in the soft, but dramatic role based on some else’s life. He plays the companion to eight malamutes and huskies that become left behind in the arctic to fend for themselves for hundreds of days, sticking together without a human to guide them. Paul’s character does everything he can to make it back to them before it’s too late. It was a role that you’d believe he could actually have acted out in his real life. He was always shed in the media light as a kind, caring, compassionate, brother figure to anyone who had the privilege of working with him.

Unfortunately, at the very young age of 40, the California native, beautiful creature, Paul Walker surmised an untimely death. He was going very fast in a sports car, as became his passion with the hit franchise, lost control with a friend, and didn’t live to tell the tale. Everyone he left behind spoke praises about him, which was to be expected. His daughter Meadow always really touched my heart with her words about her father as well as fellow cast mates of the series, specifically Vin Diesel. You can tell that kind of bond is genuine, which made him all the more crush-able and dreamy, just an all around good guy. My mother actually called me at work on November 30 to tell me that I was going to be upset because someone had died. My first thought was no freaking way, nothing can happen to Tom Hanks (my favorite celebrity in the universe and maybe a little bit of a crush now), but when she said no to that, my heart sunk and I knew we had lost a good one, still. I really was devastated with his world.

I grew up crushing hard on Mr. Into the Blue. He also was handsome as ever in Takers, still the best looking one in my opinion in the drool-worthy cast. Then he starred in Flags of Our Fathers, which I loved to see as I take a keen interest in the history of the Second World War.

Paul Walker was through and through my first real celebrity crush, for at least a decade he was my number one. There is not a thing I'm embarrassed about admitting in that and I'm proud of myself for having such high standards. Rest in power, Paul Walker, you stud muffin, dreamboat, you.

celebrities
2

About the Creator

Al

I've been writing since I was eight. Tales of haunted forests and princesses.

Now, having loved and lost, had my heart broken a few times by different kinds of love-

Writing is a passion that I hope never goes away.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.