Geeks logo

Books to Check Out: What I Read in March 2022

Fun reads to kick off the spring

By SamPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

I had a hard time picking out books to recommend this month. I went wild with the audiobooks, so I have a lot more than three to choose from. However, I think I’ve picked my favorites from my recent choices, and I’m more than excited to send them out into the world for others to check out as well.

The Man Who Couldn’t Stop by David Adam

I have OCD. It’s something myself and my doctors have known about for years, and it’s something I’ve always had. I’ve never read a book about OCD, and I’m glad I finally did. I think this is an eye-opening read for people who don’t know what it’s like to live with such a condition.

The Man Who Couldn’t Stop offers both the author’s personal journey coping with OCD and a factual account of the disorder. Both shed light on the life of an OCD sufferer, and it goes way beyond the “germophobe” persona that seems to dominate what people know about the disease. It talks about things I’ve experienced and suffered greatly from, including rituals, checking, skin picking, and of course, vicious intrusive thoughts. Overall, it was easy to digest and understand, making it the perfect introduction to OCD. This book is a huge eye opener for those who don’t know about OCD, and I’d say anyone with even a passing interest in the disorder should check it out.

Malibu Rising by Taylor Jenkins Reid

I gave this book five stars on Goodreads, one of three five-star books I’ve read in the past 18 months. That should say something. Malibu Rising follows the story of four siblings throwing a party in, where else, Malibu, and the ways their lives drastically change as a result. Each has their own crisis; Nina dealing with her husband’s infidelity, finds herself at a crossroads in life. Brothers Hud and Jay are caught in a weird love triangle, and youngest sibling Kit has a bit of self-discovery of her own through the course of the night. The whole story takes place on the day of the party, with a few flashbacks, and it makes for a tight, fast paced read you won’t want to put down.

This book gave me probably one of my favorite characters I’ve read in a while. Nina Riva is such an incredible character. Her story is heartbreaking and uplifting, and I felt so connected to her on each and every page. All the characters really come to life, and I think it’d be hard not to feel for a number of them. Overall this is so far the best book of the year for me, and it’s one you shouldn’t miss.

Be Dazzled by Ryan La Sala

It’s obvious to anyone who’s read any of my anime writings that I’m a big nerd. Then, Be Dazzled was recommended to me, a book about a young, gay cosplay creator entering a cosplay contest at a convention. I make a bit of my own cosplays for conventions, so it was a very fun read for me in particular. Anyone with a passion for crafting will immediately take to this one for sure.

This is a fun book with a lot of those young adult themes of acceptance and love. Main character Raffy’s struggle through a breakup, issues with his mother, and of course, coming out on top of the cosplay contest brings tons of relatable drama that anyone can identify with. It’s a fun, unusual plot you don’t read every day. It’s the blend of a unique world that not everyone is a part of combined with the painfully familiar emotions swirling in Raffy’s head that make Be Dazzled a quick and enjoyable read.

There you have it, a couple of fresh reads for your (hopefully) vibrant spring season. Happy reading! Check out the previous month's books here.

literature
Like

About the Creator

Sam

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Sam is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.