Geeks logo

Books to Check Out: What I Read in December 2022

Final book roundup of the year!!

By SamPublished about a year ago 4 min read
Like
Images from Goodreads

The final book review of the year, we made it! I’m giving an extra review on top of my usual three as a treat for missing last month.

NSFW by Isabel Kaplan

My most difficult but rewarding read of December, NSFW hits hard and fast. NSFW deals with the struggles of an unnamed narrator breaking into the TV business in Hollywood. It’s a story about the dark reality of being a woman in the industry. Our protagonist time and time again is forced to rebalance her personal beliefs and professional ambitions. There are some scary topics in here about power imbalances, sexual assault, and a toxic parental relationship that had me tearing my hair out.

It’s a tale we’re all unfortunately aware of by now, but the smart, biting prose really makes this story. I couldn’t put it down from page one, even when the topics made me squirm. It’s brutal, unflinching, and has an interesting ending that's sure to spark discussion.

Euphoria by Lily King

Euphoria has been on my list to read for years (my TBR is long as hell, what can I say), and it was a good one to finally get to.

Euphoria is historical fiction, a genre I don’t read much of. It’s the story of what happens to three anthropologists (a married couple and a colleague of theirs), when they come together to research in the New Guinea jungle.

I’m a sucker for a slow burn culminating in an explosion, and that’s exactly what Euphoria delivers. The small comments and actions build to arguments, which build to bigger events, you get the picture. There’s professional and sexual tension all over the place, and it propelled me right to the end in two days. It’s a good book to enjoy with a cup of tea, and it’s relatively short length lends itself to a tight, well-written story.

Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking by Susan Cain

One of my favorite non-fiction books, and it happened to pop up at the end of the year. Quiet is a book that examines the qualities and conditions of introversion. I’m an introvert myself, and I had a great time feeling validated while reading. Fellow introverts, you’re very valuable, and this book will assure you of that. It’s also a fun read for extroverts as well, as the book explores the strengths and weaknesses of both sides of the equation.

Being an introvert can be surprisingly hard at times. For example, after I do something highly social like a party, vacation, or convention, I need a week or a few days to chill out and sit in my little rocking chair to decompress. This book helped me feel ok about the alone time I need, and it showed a few of the reasons behind some of my thought processes.

I’ve had a great year for psychology books all around, and Quiet was a really welcome addition to that list.

Soulless by Gail Carriger

If I had to pick a book I’ve read that contains the most sass, it’s Soulless, and I live for it. Soulless satisfies fantasy and Victorian lit fans out there. It's is a mystery tale about a woman resistant to supernatural abilities in a world of werewolves and vampires. When Alexia Tarabotti is attacked by a mysterious vampire, it sets in motion an investigation uncovering even more sinister things going on underneath the carefully maintained supernatural society.

The worldbuilding immediately grabbed my attention. It was well thought out, explaining perfectly how vampires and werewolves coexist, and why Alexia’s preternatural state puts her in such a unique position. The characters are also all opinionated and strongly characterized, making each of them fun to follow when the story gets to them.

Probably my favorite aspect of this book had to be the third-person narration style. It wasn’t cut and dry, rather the narrator seemed to have their own personality as well. The thoughts and feelings of each character were described with some attitude, as if we were hearing the story through a friend whispering about the juiciest gossip in town. It was such a fun read, and one I didn’t expect to love as much as I did. Even better, this is the first book in a series, and you bet I’ll be tackling the rest of them.

It was such a great year for reading! I love so much of what I read this year, and next year I’m looking to find even more interesting and diverse reads to recommend. Happy reading, and Happy New Year!!

reviewliterature
Like

About the Creator

Sam

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Sam is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.