Geeks logo

Books to Check Out: December 2020 Reads

Exciting books to close out the year

By SamPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

Though November was a fiction filled month, I couldn't help myself; we've got three more novels in December. What can I say, I’ve been on a fiction kick lately. I promise I’ll give some more variety in 2021. For now, I’ve got some really amazing sci-fi picks and yet another murder mystery to start off the new year.

The Woman in Cabin 10 by Ruth Ware

I like guessing what’s going to happen at the end of a book. I like even more when I guess and I’m totally wrong. Books that can surprise without using cheap tricks deserve a special place in heaven. The Woman in Cabin 10 took me on a ride.

This is the murder mystery book I read this month, and it’s one that was written incredibly well. The story follows Lo Blacklock, a journalist tasked with reporting on the latest luxury cruise for the travel magazine she works for. Early in the voyage, Lo hears a scream, a splash, and suddenly her life turns upside down; someone was clearly thrown overboard, and yet when she reports the incident, it’s found that no one on the small cruise is missing. It’s not just about finding the murderer. It’s about finding out who was murdered, or maybe even if someone was murdered in the first place.

Like I said before, the writing is incredible. I love how Lo thinks, and how her anxieties and skepticisms feel so genuine. She’s a fully realized and relatable protagonist, and she’s easy to root for. The plot was interesting and took so many twists and turns. It never felt like a twist happened just for the hell of it either. Each revelation made sense and brought the story to a reasonable place. Ruth Ware totally knew what she was doing with this story, and she made it one heck of an enjoyable read.

Sleeping Giants by Sylvain Neuvel

Oh boy. If there’s ever a book to experience in audiobook format, it’s this one. On it’s own, this book is an incredible sci-fi story. Sleeping Giants follows the story of a few individuals intertwined after a giant metal hand is found in South Dakota. That’s it. That’s all I’m saying. You get absolutely nothing from me, because you have to read it yourself to really experience the way this novel unfolds.

The sci-fi element in Sleeping Giants is a lot of fun. It’s part totally outlandish, and part totally believable. I love how it straddles that line, and does it in a way that never feels forced or stupid. I was fully invested and engrossed in the technology being introduced. The descriptions of the metals and contraptions managed to get across a feeling of fear and awe that left me very unsettled. Though that wasn’t a pleasant feeling, I have to admit I respect a book that can make me feel something so strongly.

This book is told through reports, interviews, and audio recordings. It covers a wide range of time with multiple characters, and each of them has distinct personalities and motivations. Listening to this as an audiobook was stunning. I wish there was better information on the cast and who played who, because the nameless interviewer is phenomenal. In a way, the full cast made it feel like I could have been watching a play; it’s easy to visualize and fall into the story when the characters speak. They bring the story to life.

If there’s any critique I could have for this book, it’s that I want more. Luckily, this is the first book in a trilogy. I assume later books will have a ton more world-building, and I can’t wait for it.

Annihilation by Jeff VanderMeer

This is the last book I’ve read of 2020, and what a book to go out on. It’s short, sweet, and to the point. Another amazing sci-fi thriller, Annihilation throws you right into the fray and never slows down. This is a book in which a group of four women are tasked with investigating a mysterious and hostile area known only as Area X.

Something that gives me a bone-chilling kind of fear is when an author can mix horror and sci-fi. Annihilation is a perfect blend of this mix. From the opening few sentences, VanderMeer sets a matter of fact, suspenseful tone that carries through all the way to the end. It’s told from the field journal of the biologist of the group. She points out chilling details about undiscovered organisms, and notices all the small notes of tension in between the members of the group. She says just enough to make you nervous about what could possibly be waiting around the next corner, while also keeping you somewhat in the dark about what’s really going on. As the novel goes on, you get more and more mind-blowing kernels of knowledge that makes the scenario that much more frightening. It’s so well done that you won’t be able to put it down once you start.

I’m very lucky to have ended 2020 with some awesome books. It can leave somewhat of a good taste in my mouth in an otherwise messy year. Hopefully they can bring you some excitement and intrigue as we head into the new year. Happy reading!

review
Like

About the Creator

Sam

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Sam is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.