Geeks logo

Book Sabbatical: May

Read, read, read!

By Hannah Marie. Published 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Book Sabbatical: May
Photo by Tom Hermans on Unsplash

This month has been a little hectic, as evidenced by this summary being written twelve-ish days after the start of the month. I can’t promise July will be any better, but it’s for a good reason! I will be traveling and hiking this summer (see previous blog about adventuring) so I will have limited access to a computer. However, I will continue to create stories for when I return in August and will post as often as I can. Until then, enjoy the books from May!

This started off well, but went downhill from there. Most of these I really wanted to like. I began reading them with positive anticipation because most had been recommended to me. However, there were few that made it to the top of my list this month, so I’ll keep trying to look for some highly-recommended for the future. There are a couple audio books I’m starting, so I’ll include my take on those next time.

3) The Love Hypothesis, by Ali Hazelwood

Did you re-read any passages?

No; it was a pretty standard chick-flick with some cute parts. I ended up giving it five stars because the story didn't take as many turns as I would have liked (in a word, predictable), but it was overall worth reading.

Would you want to read another book by this author?

Possibly, depending on the subject.

Did reading the book impact your mood?

I picked up this book because it had been advertized on some book blogs and I was looking for something that wasn't too serious, within my non-fiction and super serious books.

What surprised you most about the book?

It was a more interesting storyline than I was expecting, and there was some character development throughout.

How did your opinion of the book change as you read it?

It didn't really.

What tips did you find for writing?

If something interests me, it might be useful to include it in my writing. For instance, certain authors were mentioned, along with some science details, which are important for keeping the story going and making connections among readers.

Scale of 1-5: ⭐️⭐️⭐️

2) Pachinko, by Lee Min-Jin

Did you re-read any passages?

No. This was a super thick book, so I was just trying to get through it. It became less confusing the longer I read.

Would you want to read another book by this author?

I might, but right now wouldn't.

Did reading the book impact your mood?

Nope.

What surprised you most about the book?

I enjoyed the aspect of viewing the story from different perspectives within the family.

How did your opinion of the book change as you read it?

It was too long, and not enough going on to keep my interest.

What tips did you find for writing?

Multiple perspectives.

Scale of 1-5: ⭐️⭐️

1) 100 Hikes in a Lifetime, by Kate Siber

Did you re-read any passages?

No, but I definitely will be reading it again! There's lots to peruse.

Would you want to read another book by this author?

Sure!

Did reading the book impact your mood?

This made me ready for hiking!! Let's go!

What surprised you most about the book?

I enjoyed how these hikes were organized by country, and included the effort needed for each of the different hikes. This makes it available for newbies as well as experienced hikers.

How did your opinion of the book change as you read it?

It didn't. I was very excited to read it, and I was not disappointed.

What tips did you find for writing?

Non-fiction books can be interesting, too, especially if they are based off of

Scale of 1-5: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

The rest of May books:

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

⭐️⭐️⭐️

⭐️⭐️

⭐️

literature
Like

About the Creator

Hannah Marie.

Storytelling Through Art.

My goal is to show experiences in a meaningful way through short stories and hand-drawn sketches.

Find me on IG too! @Hannah_Marie._Artwork

—Hannah Marie.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.