Journal logo

I’m in! — One Adventurer’s Story.

My Perspective on Embracing the Unknown.

By Hannah Marie. Published 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

This is the last week at my job. I voluntarily resigned a month ago, with the idea that I am going to take the summer off. I am leaving on good terms, but I’m setting off on an adventure! I have calculated my savings, my budget, and two other trips already bookended on either side of my summer ramblings. My plan for adventure: to section hike the Appalachian Trail for five to six weeks!

Section hiking just means that I am taking a certain mileage on the east coast of the United States and setting off in a marked direction until the time I decide to stop. It’s not the same as hiking this trail from Georgia to Maine, as this would take approximately six months for someone taking their time like I plan to. This plan comes with other goals. My initial goal is to start each day with the idea to enjoy the ride. On one hand, I am not aiming to get to a specific point, but the internal drive that I have constantly within me urges me to see as much as possible. I’m hoping that my pen and pencil scribble down as much of the land as my camera takes in! These I will share with you! However, I do have a hiking companion on my little escapade. My awesome dad has volunteered to hike with me and he will be the voice of reason as I go off on these little side trail adventures. Think of it as something like the tortoise and the hare, or Maria (Von Trapp) and the Reverend Mother.

Along with seeing as much as I can of the AT, I will be journaling and sketching as I go, creating a pencil trail that follows my feet. One of the advantages of being outside in the middle of nowhere all summer is that I won’t have much internet or cell service, but I will gather gorgeousness and stories to document in one big information dump. Maybe some of my fictional stories will be inspired by our sightings!

I have tended to an Etsy shop for a while now, under the name Hannah Marie. Artwork. During my travels from June to August, I will just be offering digital downloads in my shop, which I will continue to add to throughout the summer. I can still contact anyone if they have questions about my shop; it just might take a little more time to respond. Be patient with me and I will keep you well entertained with my wanderings and sketches here! One of the newest HM Artwork doodles from my current Texas theme is the prickly pear cactus, inspired by my sister’s Desert Bloom Bakery, whose interview about a year ago is still a favorite of my blog readers! For future stories, I have already begun to play with the thought of having a little creature in future fiction-ish updates who also pops up in Hannah Marie. Artwork (Dun-Dun- Dun)!

In all seriousness, one of the issues that has not been addressed is what job I will have when I return. I’ve submitted applications to hopefully snatch an amazing job in education, which was the Plan A since completing my Masters in Education degree last year. I’m being a little picky with the job that I want, but Plan B will not be as rigid once August rolls around. I am aware that I will need to have a job by that time and I might have to accept a good job in favor of one that I am looking forward to, at least for now. One of the awesome things about embracing life on the edge is that I mull about it for a while and then I let it go. Worrying is not going to help anything, and as a couple of my friends keep telling me, “God’s got this!” I’m just enjoying the ride, keeping my mind and eyes open to new adventures. My travel companion, Dad, has already warned me that this hiking adventure might not turn out exactly like I think. I certainly hope not!!! I look forward to being surprised. Then I can drag you along with me!

Keeping an eye out for more adventures…! -HM.

travel
Like

About the Creator

Hannah Marie.

Storytelling Through Art.

My goal is to show experiences in a meaningful way through short stories and hand-drawn sketches.

Find me on IG too! @Hannah_Marie._Artwork

—Hannah Marie.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.