Geeks logo

Beast movie review/commentary

More like a YouTube commentary video in this format instead. Barely any “critiquing” or thoughtful thoughts

By Jay,when I writePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 7 min read
Like
The beast travel from universal pictures India YouTube

SPOILERS BECAUSE IM TYPING AS IM SEEING IT. NO ONE IS IN THE THEATRE WITH ME SO IT’S OKAY

Final pretentious review/thoughts at the end because I was once a film student so…it’s in me still I guess. Ha.

Okay, side note:I can’t believe I never noticed or cared about how loud movie theaters were before. These can’t be the same ears I watched a billion movies with. It has been a while since I’ve been here

TO THE MOVIE:

The younger daughter is funny and I love her hair. Okay fro.

MAYBE SEEING IDRIS NOW THAT IM 23 Will AWAKEN SOMETHING IN ME SINCE EVERY BLACK MOM IVE SEEN LOVES HIM

The teen girl, Mer(?) exploded at her dad before I thought she would. I mean, it was obvious from the second they stepped off that plane(or was it a helicopter) that their mother was dead. Child, child, father…no mom=death and everyone is grieving.

I figured she would be upset with the dad for something since she didnt speak to him or at all as they walked, leaving the younger daughter to make the jokes.

Second side note: this isn’t my go to genre. But, it’s my birthday and I needed something to do.

I’m gonna go out on a limb and say the reason why Idris Elba doesn’t speak to her about her photography is because she chose the thing her mom used to love. It’s hard for him to talk about something that once sparked a joy in his deceased wife. They’ll have that conversation later, I bet.

So, the white man is a bachelor and likes to drink. Was it a divorce?

I then had to get napkins in the middle of him explaining what happened to the mom and why he wasn’t there for her in her time of need. The white man (I know NO NAMES except Mer because she corrected the man, and Idris Elba will be staying Idris Alba).

Oh, his name is Martin. Right. Now I remember him saying that.

Apparently Idris Elba is not a hugger, according to his daughters. So, he definitely will get more feely. They’ll have a lot of time to bond while fighting for their lives. Which, brings me to what he said in the conversation with Martin. I did hear him say that he knew what death looked like and when death knocked on his door, and went to the women in his home, he wasn’t there to look at it and say “No.” So, this time…he will say “No” and be there for them. He will not allow death to take more of his family and he will feel good about that as a father and doctor (I think he said he was a doctor). Doctors (I don’t know what kind he was) tend to care more about life and death and think they have more control, or feel bad when they can’t help their family.

Though, that’s not how death works homie. Yes, you will feel helpless…everyone does when they lose someone. We can’t control whether someone lives or die, even if we notice things. It would have been better for him to be there, and notice things though.

So, the lion or something killed someone. There are no hyenas, so now they’re worried. Nora is lost! He’s blaming Mer for Nora running away, and I can see that, but Nora is like

Guessing it’s a fake scare…

Update: It most definitely wasn’t.

Love the score…sounds of the movie, even though I can feel it ripping my skull apart.

Pause: he’s the type of doctor that listens to your heart and whatnot (that narrows it down, but not by much).

The lion is staring at him and he said he thinks he’s the bait…so wait okay there’s the lion he hugged and the BEAST & the lion he loved wants to feed him to the BEAST?

Right from the opening mixed with him living in the states mixed with him not knowing things in order to help Martin…he’s a city boy now who needs to learn things RIGHT NOW…

Oh he’s about to almost get eaten! Ahh ok this is THRILLING

SHOUTS OUT TO NORA

I didn’t think they’d get to Martin. But, I don’t think he’ll live. I dunno, feels like a death needs to come, but not from the main family. Maybe just all the villagers we saw.

Dang, the lion is back on his feet like a beast. This has to be the same lion he hugged, otherwise why did we see it? So Martin probably meant he was the bait as in the lion wanted the family to find Martin and

Promised Nora their mom wouldn’t die…why the heck would she choose now to talk about this? I mean, okay that makes sense. Parents shouldn’t just promise nothing bad will happen when things are like this. She was sick. You shouldn’t just promise she wouldn’t die. And now they would have a hard time trusting you or feeling safe. Sometimes it’s best to not promise things and just not try to reassure people? Just say you will do everything and if anything, they’ll (the kids) be protected.

The emotional moments outside of the situation feels a bit forced, but I’m probably just saying that because I hated the outburst at the beginning. I didn’t care enough about the characters for them to drop something like that so soon. Now, I care and want to know things. But, this is an action movie. It’s a thriller. It’s fast paced. I can’t judge it on the other movies I watch.

Oh more dreams. Everything is coming together better (don’t get napkins in the middle of an important conversation). They used to be there? Or at least the mom did, and now she is buried in a slab in the city. That’s what Martin was saying he didn’t want to see (her buried in the city). She loved her special tree and the area she lived in, not the States.

Wait he’s trapped in the car alone? Is this a dream? Must be. Yep. It was.

They’ll help them get out. They have to pay them. Oh, miscommunication and whatnot.the lion just solved that problem. Thank him now Idris.

Hey, you may be talented, but if you don’t fit then you don’t fit. I respect them for choosing the people they chose.

He caught a snake…hot. Maybe I will fall in love with him after all.

Final thoughts:

Cast/Acting: My mom actually texted me and told me Idris’ daughter auditioned for the role, but didn’t get it. Hey, she may be very talented, but if ya don’t fit ya don’t fit. I really liked the cast and their chemistry. I won’t call it the best acting because when they cried I didn’t really feel it, but it wasn’t bad enough for me to notice (and it really does take a lot for me to notice bad acting). Maybe it was just the pacing that made me feel a tad disconnected.

Dialogue: I thought everything was natural except for the moments the oldest daughter, Mer, had to say something that added to their tragic backstory. Nora carried.

The pacing: hey, it’s a survival thriller. What could I expect

The…cgi? Or something (I was in film, but not that area)… it looked fake as crap when Idris was battling it out with the Beast. Like, so bad. Not just because there’s no way he would’ve survived, but because it just looked unnatural and ugly. The colors felt like they didn’t blend in enough with the surroundings. Otherwise, everything looked great.

Plot: I didn’t expect much. Didn’t get much. It made sense. The sadness didn’t feel sad.

The ending felt less…*tries to google a word* *can’t think of what to google* like it was finally there. Like, okay things are fine now.

There was little thought of Martin after. There was little “yay they got away and they’re all loving and happy now.”

But it was really cute that it ended with them visiting the tree (I thought the daughter would sooner. Was surprised, but I knew it’d happen) and then photos.

For a survival thriller: 7/10 (twas unbelievable & had action…yup)

But how much did I really really enjoy it: 4/10 🤷🏾‍♀️ Not my area of expertise, but I enjoyed just sitting there and watching something. Was the highlight of my day

Thanks and peace!

moviereview
Like

About the Creator

Jay,when I write

Hello.

What?

23, Black, queer, yup

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.