Geeks logo

Barry Season 3 Episode 6 '710N' Review

The climax of '710N' is the most exciting car chase I have ever experienced in a TV show.

By Marielle SabbagPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1

WOW, what an intense episode. I was grasping my head with my mouth hanging open for the entire climax of 710N. The drama is escalating. This episode brings fans something that they didn’t know they needed in an episode of Barry. An epic car chase. This was the best-directed episode I have seen on TV in the longest time. Comedy, drama, and surprises are nailed.

I don’t know where to begin with Barry. First, Bill Hader finds all the subtle nuances of this character. This season, he doesn’t make audiences forget that Barry is an unhinged person. That scene where he is walking around a story writing a text aloud to Sally is a good example. But still, you don’t want anything bad to happen to him as we have followed his journey.

Okay, off-topic but somebody tell me how I missed that Hader had a rich singing voice? I loved hearing him sing a little tune.

I really thought that the writers were going to off Fuches for a moment. I had mixed feelings over his storyline. Falling in love with this woman, he forgets his entire path of vengeance. I feel like his storyline was mainly filler until he released what he needed to do.

Each day, Gene Cousineau has more exciting news about his acting career. As for Sally, she is trying to figure out a new plan. Now, that her show Joplin has been canceled, she doesn’t have that many options. Hank is not in good shape either. Most of the supporting cast is only given one or two scenes for this episode because its main focus is finally back on Barry.

So, we have some new characters and returnees. The barista in the bakery shop gets the best background character award. It was a funny running gag with each character coming in to discuss their problems.

As for the biker crew, they deserve their own section specifically for all the biking stunts they do in this episode.

Looks like I was right in my last review that writers are finally bringing vengeance to Chris Lucado. Okay, so it’s implied that there was a little chemistry at one point between Barry and Sharon (Karen David), Chris’s wife. Whatever the case may be

Bill Hader is a tremendous director! He must watch a lot of car chase films because I am so impressed with the way he directed the car chase in the climax of this episode. His use of camera angles is excellent. I look forward to learning how he did this entire sequence. Stunts are planned and mastered so well.

Now, I am going to be watching the car chase for the rest of the week. I already have and it hasn’t even been an hour since I finished the episode! This car/motorcycle chase sequence is unique compared to other car chases that I have seen in the media. First off, there’s no background music. Good choice.

Hader has a unique approach to comedy. I am inspired by his techniques as a director, planning out every minute detail there is in this show. Hader likes to pay focus on background moments. Now, I look forward to all the episodes he is going to direct in season 4. Cinematically, this episode is a standout in camera tricks, editing, and storytelling.

You need to watch this episode. In my opinion, it is one of the best episodes that ends with a nail-biting climax. Now I am really waiting on the edge of my seat to find out what happens next week because this episode ends on a suspenseful note.

review
1

About the Creator

Marielle Sabbag

Writing has been my passion since I was 11 years old. I love creating stories from fiction, poetry, fanfiction. I enjoy writing movie reviews. I would love to become a creative writing teacher and leave the world inspiring minds.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.