Geeks logo

B.J. Novak Exposes a Massive Problem With Celebrities

Look I'm sure he's a nice guy and there are many others who are guilty of what he's done, but his case just irks me the most honestly.

By KaciePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Picture from https://www.insider.com/bj-novak-others-reading-books-instagram-help-during-covid-19-2020-3

Dear Vocal Readers,

Oh, B.J. Novak, have I got a bone to pick with you? That answer quite obviously is yes (something you could probably infer simply off the title of this article). He is just one of the many celebrities who are guilty of stealing from the rest of us 99%, but he is the best example I have of it. For those of you who don't know him, he is best known for his role in the television series "The Office" and he has also done directing and writing. Now this man published a children's book titled The Book With No Pictures and it was a hit. People go to the store shopping for children's novels and they see his name sticking out in blue font on that cover, and if they know him it's that instant thought of "Hey I know that guy! I should get this because he wrote it and I liked him in 'The Office'!" This is where it all goes wrong. It is human nature to see a familiar name and even a celebrity's name and be drawn to whatever it's on. But I believe Novak knew that all too well and leaned on this fact. He made the title all in black, and put his name in blue to draw the eyes to the author's name. Smart man indeed, but seriously messed up for taking advantage of consumers.

In all fairness, this book wouldn't upset me so much had it been an actual story book. This book instead is full of white pages with text on them. That is literally it. Anyone and their mother could make a book like this, especially a children's book. And here's the catch: the book makes adults say funny words. I swear this has to have been done before by someone else. But this book goes on to sell and ends up in classrooms like the one I teach in. The kids love when I say "Boo-boo butt" because of course that will make them laugh! This whole novel is so easy. Easy with a capital everything. He even uses the word "preposterous" and tell me how any child is going to know what that means.

Look, I'm sure he didn't mean to hurt anyone's livelihoods with this book, but sadly I guarantee you that he has. He took that money away from another author who I bet is nowhere near as rich as he is, and from someone who spent possibly years illustrating and creating a unique story. The rich keep getting richer while the poor and middle class are squashed upon. I won't even ask why he wrote this book because that answer is already painfully obvious. IT MADE HIM MONEY! Isn't that what seems to drive everybody nowadays? But to take away money from someone who worked so hard really pisses me off. He didn't even illustrate anything! It is legitimately a book with just text and silly words.

So, well done B.J. Novak for making a successful book. I'm sure it wasn't super easy for you with your name being famous and all. Oh, and putting in little to no effort was also pretty awesome too. I will say this though, for celebrities writing books with actual story lines and obvious effort, you guys aren't as bad but you are still apart of the problem. A quick message to any celebrities trying to take our chump change from us when they could easily pay off our debts we have amassed: stay in your mansion and shut up.

Sincerely from my celebrities who steal from the public-hating mind,

Kacie

celebrities
1

About the Creator

Kacie

Just an aspiring writer trying to gain experience :)

Follow my adorable kitties on Instagram and Tiktok @joethehoe.finnforthewin <3

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.