Geeks logo

B-Grade Christmas Movies are like Chicken Soup for my Soul!

by Alana Meuleman

By AlanaPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

I'm going to say it! I secretly love a good B-Grade Christmas Movie! It is like sipping a hot cup of tea on a rainy day or slipping into a lavender soak bubble bath and feeling your whole body unwind. There is something so unbelievably soothing and uplifting about these corny, predictable, happily-ever-after movies. It's like giving your soul a little pamper session with some positivity self-care.

I love waiting until my husband is out and the kids are in bed to nestle up on the couch with my two puppies snuggled on my lap and indulge in a good B-Grade Christmas movie. If I make it to the end it's like a bonus before I give in to sleep or am dragged away by jobs, kids, or any other distraction. But even just ten minutes puts me in a better mood already. It's my chicken soup for the soul!

Doesn't matter what time of the year it is, Lifestyle Christmas movies always leave the same comforting effect. It even feels like a cheeky indulgence watching them in the middle of the year when Christmas is so far away. But these movies are timeless because they bring joy, hope, and comfort with the nostalgia of love for Christmas.

The perfect predictability brings certainty to an uncertain world and can help you forget for an hour or so about work, family, relationships, or money stresses. When you watch a corny Christmas movie and can tell that the handsome widower with a cute daughter that got stuck in a little town in a snowstorm is going to fall in love with the town sweetheart. Or that the struggling bakery is going to get saved by a Christmas miracle.

I love getting lost in the stunning little towns with the most amazing Christmas decorations you have ever seen and everyone's house looks like the mansion from Home and Alone, decorated to perfection. Then there are the Christmas parties where everyone is practically in ball attire and looks enchantingly glamorous! I don't know what kind of world people actually live in these houses and attend these sorts of parties or live in these quaint towns, but I want to imagine that they are all a reality.

Something is soothing about semi-recognizing the actors and then coming across favorites that are in multiple Christmas movies that play their confused, love-lost characters so expertly. Even better when you stumble upon a much-loved actor that brings you back to a nostalgic time of your life such as Melissa Joan Hart that I use to watch as Sabrina the Teenage Witch. It was like a pot of gold finding her in not one, but multiple Christmas movies. My fond memories of her from the beloved show when I was younger made watching her in every Christmas movie seem even more special.

The movies are so easy to watch that they can be put on in the background while you work or clean. It doesn't matter if you miss a bit or get distracted and you can come back to them, picking up where you left off. They have plots that are simple to understand and always have a happy ending. Best of all their optimism and the magic of Christmas lifts the spirits and helps you to relax.

So if you secretly love B-grade Christmas movies too, embrace it! Snuggle up in your cuddly PJs and slippers with a hot drink and melt into the timeless, beautiful, predictable, easy-to-watch comfort of a corny Christmas movie. Enjoy the vomit-worthy romances and cliches and let the optimistic message and happy ending wash over you. Enjoy every delicious minute, I know I will!

entertainment
Like

About the Creator

Alana

I am an early childhood teacher, wife and mother to two beautiful twin boys. I have always had a passionate for story telling and love to read as much as create. I love sharing my tales with others and having an avenue for my creativity.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.