Geeks logo

Atlantis VS Merlin

If you loved Stargate Atlantis Then you will love Merlin

By Brave DuckPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1
Stargate Atlantis Post and Merlin Poster

If you loved Stargate Atlantis Then you will love Merlin

In my heart of hearts I am a Nerd, a Geek, a lover of all things fantasy which is probably why I’m drawn to writing. Through fantasy I can go anywhere I want and live anyhow I wish. Much like writing, watching films and TV is an escape, a world that opens itself up for me to wonder through.

But there are two specific shows that I always go back to anytime I want to feel like I’m home again.

I can’t remember which show I saw first, BBC’s 2008 Merlin and or the Sci-Fi Channel’s Startgate Atlantis, but these two shows feel like they came out of the same world even though one is Sci Fi and the other myth and folklore fantasy.

Let me show you why these shows make the best fantasy combo.

Most TV series you watch are segmented into episodes and each episode lives in its own independent universe, without any care to what happened in the previous episode or the one after. Each episode is a new story to learn and unravel and while that makes for an entertaining viewing experience, it’s a little shallow.

But not Merlin, and definitely not my dear Stargate Atlantis because in these shows each episode is a lead up to the next episode and no character is left behind.

They don’t try too hard.

No one like a fake, we like the people around us to be human. No one wants to be around someone who is awesome, cool and fantastic all the time. A lot of the shows out there focus on the amazing nature of one individual character and all the other characters are sidekicks.

In Merlin, while the show does focus on the life of a young warlock who’s trying to understand his destiny we see him put an equal amount of importance on the people around him. Time and time again he is shown to make great sacrifices for Prince Arthur, Gwen, Gaius, Morgana and even Mordred, and in return they too feel a loyalty to help him in his time of need. Somehow the creators of this show managed to create lead roles out of all the characters in this show. It feel like a real community that has transcended off the screen as well, with a huge fan base that still love the show.

In Stargate Atlantis I can’t even tell you who the lead character is. I thought it might be John Sheppard, as he discovers the Stargate and a new life in the Pegasus Galaxy,but it’ also Teyla Emmagan who leaves behind her role as a leader of her people to join the people of earth in the fight against the wraith. Much like Merlin, Stargate Atlantis values team work and unselfish friendship, a group of people who build each other up to overcome their own adversity.

Healthy Friendships

In Merlin, we have a would be King (Arthur) and a Warlock (Merlin), the most powerful sorcerer to have every lived, and he has a dragon. But what we are privy to is an evolving relationship between Arthur and Merlin, just two dudes who pretend they don’t like hanging out with each when in reality they have one of the healthiest man on man friendships on television.

We are first introduced to Arthur as this macho warrior, a protector of Camelot who is a spoilt brat but throughout the progression of the show his friendship with Merlin changes him. Merlin is a servant who couldn’t care less that Arthur is royalty and Arthur allows the barrier of rank to be broken between him and his servant. It’s humbling to watch Arthur grow into a leader of his people and his friendship with Merlin, Gwen and Gaius shaped him towards that path.

Merlin on the other hand is boy who left home who now must fulfil his sudden destiny, and in between the back and forth insults and jokes, Arthur plays a key role in making Merlin feel worthy of his destiny. We gradually see Merlin gain confidence to be Arthur’s counsel and very early on in the series we watch Arthur risk disobeying his father to save the life of Merlin, and it’s in that moment Merlin begins to see Camelot as him home. It’s refreshing to see kindness and vulnerability between two male characters, even if that vulnerability is masked with jokes.

In Stargate Atlantis, we see the same bond of friendship between four team members who each brings a different skill set to the group dynamic. The rule is simple, “No one gets left behind”, but another unspoken rule is what makes this TV show memorable for me. In Atlantis, we witness something that other shows don’t explore too often, it’s the concept of (what’s important to you is important to me) between the characters. I know that when I go through something difficult and painful all I really want is someone to share my pain with who won’t try to water down what I’m experiencing or feeling. This show perfectly captures that essence of egoless camaraderie.

It’s not about Sex

Sex is everywhere on TV and it can be an isolating experience to watch for a lot of people and I’m one of them. In both Merlin and Stargate Atlantis sex has no importance on the happiness or the purpose of the characters and it’s liberating to see that on TV for once. In most other shows you discover sex and falling in love is always the endgame, even if they are superheroes. I admire the creators of these two shows to prioritise friendship, loyalty and interpersonal accountability over sex and I hope other shows in the future take note of just how much important these traits are.

So all in all watch Merlin and then follow it up with Stargate Atlantis and if you don't want to start living in one of these two worlds then I reckon you need some serious help. Seriously!

tv
1

About the Creator

Brave Duck

Overthinking is my nature

Writing is my soul

To clear the chaos in my head

I put pen to my infinite scroll

Who am I kidding? ducks are my soul. I'm a mother to three happy, cheeky, messy ducks.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.