Geeks logo

Are you as confused as me?

A review of the show House of the Dragon

By Shanon Marie Clare Angermeyer NormanPublished 6 days ago 3 min read

Everyone who knows me knows that I am a big fan of the HBO show Game of Thrones. I thought George R.R. Martin was a genius, and I thought the team that brought us the show was simply brilliant. I refer to that show very often as I got to know all of the main characters very well glued to each episode and rewatching it on DVD multiple times.

When the show was over, I didn't have anything to replace it with. I was getting into Stranger Things and The Witcher (on Netflix) but now those are gone. So it only makes sense that I would look to House of the Dragon to give me what GOT used to give. But all I've GOTten so far is very confused. There is still time to fix this as only one season has transpired thus far, and I'm all caught up already having watched the first episode of Season 2. Still, I'm scratching my head in confusion wondering if I really understand what's going on.

I think the reason I feel so confused is that in the first season the show has introduced a lot of characters without focusing on any particular character the most. We are not cheering for anyone yet. We are undecided about who they are or who we like. At least that's how I feel.

There seems to be only four characters that stand out the most so far: Queen Alicent Hightower. King Aegon. Princess Rhaenyra Targaryen. Prince Daemon Targaryen. That's it. The rest are just thrown in for dialogue and confusion. I have formulated some opinions based on the conversations, but I don't even know why I care yet or if I care.

I was impressed with the visit from Jason Lannister in the first season. He was handsome and represented the Lannister family well. I think the actress Phia Saban playing Helaena Targaryen is doing a great job making a minor role seem major, although that does add to the confusion. I think Viserys was the most confusing character, and Otto Hightower reminds me of Tywin Lannister in some ways. Very in control of his emotions and reactions, commanding a certain respect.

Besides those I've just mentioned, I can also say that Larys Strong sticks out for being an interesting weirdo, but most of the other characters whose names I don't even know, are super flat and boring so their presence just adds to my confusion.

I'm going to stick with watching it. It's still interesting to me even if I am confused. The plot so far is something to do with the fact that the King Viserys who died did not appoint his daughter Rhaenyra as Queen or at least that's what is being said which is causing a war because some believe it and some don't. Instead Alicent's son Aegon was made King. He began his reign very reluctant hiding from the post, but once he took the throne he seemed to know what to say and how to act.

The only other interesting scene besides some sexual stuff and fighting stuff, is the scene where we meet the Baratheon. He acts like he's a king (though officially he is not), and has the same war tone and cold air as Robert Baratheon.

In the first episode of Season 2, they have begun to mention the Starks. We'll see what happens with that.

I guess I'm not 100% certain who I like the best so far. I am impressed with the portrayal of Alicent. Her character seems wise and well-spoken and brave. She also likes a good romp which helps keeps things exciting, better than just violence all the time.

I want to see Jason Lannister again. He seemed to be the most charming of courters or suitors.

I'm fascinated by Daemon. He's like a MacBeth character and won't hesitate for a minute to chop off someone's head for ambition or merely an insult.

The others all look good, but they are not that interesting, at least not yet. And the war and violence thing seems forced too soon. It's like they are throwing it in just to make the show seem more exciting when there really isn't a great reason for it. Treason? False King or Queen? That's been done already and seems like such a lame excuse. It would have been better if someone murdered Viserys. Then there would have been much more controversy and reason for war. Or if they captured the Princess and they had to war to get her back. Something like that would have been fresher and easier for people like me to understand.

Oh well. I like the show enough to keep watching it and hopefully my confusion will diminish as the show continues.

reviewtvpop culturefan fictionfact or fictionentertainment

About the Creator

Shanon Marie Clare Angermeyer Norman

Published Writer and Artist.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Shanon Marie Clare Angermeyer NormanWritten by Shanon Marie Clare Angermeyer Norman

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.