Geeks logo

Animal Crossing Cosplay

Step by Step, Part 2

By Tia ReardanzPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like
Animal Crossing Cosplay
Photo by Jess Bailey on Unsplash

Part 2: Horns

The next part of my Chevre build is the horns. These took a lot longer than the ears, but mostly just because the steps had a lot of drying time in-between. Because I’m impatient, I actually started these while I was making the ears to cut down on waiting times.

To make the horns, I used foam clay, a plastic headband, sandpaper, spray paint, and painter’s tape.

The horns themselves are made from a foam clay base. I rolled the clay into roughly the shape I wanted and smoothed it as best I could with my hands. It didn’t need to be perfect because I would be sanding it down later.

The foam on these are very thick, so they took a long time to become fully solid. Not letting it dry long enough will cause it to become misshapen if you try to sand it and soak up any paint you try to apply, so I let my horns sit in the sun for about two days to make sure they were dry all the way through.

Horns drying in the windowsill

Once they were dry, I started sanding them down to remove the fine cracks and smooth them out a little bit. I used a high grit sandpaper (moving up from 100 to about 800) and did it by hand so that I could work slowly. If you want to skip this step, you can. Foam clay takes acrylics and spray paint very well already, so it isn’t necessary if you are happy with the polish. I’m just not good at sculpting, so it’s always required.

Next I chose my colors. For this I used a pretty basic spray paint. The base needs to be the lighter color because it will be harder to cover up, so if you choose orange and brown for example, make sure that the orange goes down first. In this case, it is the yellow. The horns got a few coats of yellow until they were solidly covered. The spray paint I used only took about half an hour to dry but because I was going to be putting tape over it, I waited just a little longer.

Horns after two coats of yellow spraypaint

Next, I taped down the portions that I wanted to stay yellow. For Chevre, the tips and base are brown on her model, so I chose two spots for the yellow stripes in the center. Then it was spray paint round two!

Horns taped up

Horns after brown spray paint before removing the tape

After everything was dried, I fastened the horns to the headband by dremeling a ridge into the base of the horns and hot gluing them to the band. This will keep them from sliding or rotating like wire or magnets might, although those would work just as well if done tightly.

The final headband, completed

And done! The next tutorial will be the makeup, hair styling, and final presentation.

See you next time, la baa!

cosplay
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.