Geeks logo

A Christmas Story - A Movie Review

'A Christmas Story' is a heartwarming film about the importance of childhood.

By Marielle SabbagPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

Christmas is a special time of year. Bask in the memories and enjoy it while you can.

A Christmas Story was released to theaters in 1983. Set in the 1940s, a young boy desires to have a Red Ryder BB gun for Christmas. As he is getting ready for Christmas, Ralphie goes through the usual day to day norms.

If there is any film that highlights the imagination of a child, A Christmas Story is a classic. The film has many memorable iconic scenes. Have you ever wondered how many times Ralphie says that he wants a Red Ryder BB Gun? I guess you’ll have to find out at the end of this review. A Christmas Story is a heartwarming film about the importance of childhood.

Peter Billingsley beat out a total of 8,000 boys for the role of Ralphie! I am very impressed with Billingsley for his mature demeanor. Every child sees a bit of themselves in Ralphie. Growing up is never easy. Each interaction that Ralphie has is important. His relationships with his family or friends reflect how they have impacted his life.

I enjoyed the daydreams that Ralphie had. As corny as they are, we can all relate. I had a big imagination when I was a kid. I still do. Billingsley did a wonderful job connecting to his emotions and donning a message to have faith in what you believe.

Melinda Dillon, Darren McGavin, Peter Billingsley, and Ian Petrella created a realistic family dynamic. The dynamic in this family is one of the most important aspects of the film. They realize that they have more similarities in their desires for emotional cravings.

I enjoyed their interactions. At times, it feels like I am watching a home movie. They have their happy moments, but like all families, they have disagreements.

A Christmas Story has a notable cast of characters. Credits to include are Scott Schwartz, Tedde Moore, R.D. Robb, Zach Ward, Yano Anaya, Jeff Gillen, and an ensemble of many more. This movie would not be what it is without Jean Shepherd’s expressive narrations.

Recently, I found out that this was Zach Ward’s first film. As the menacing bully, Scut Farkus, he was very believable. Since I was a kid, I’ve always despised him.

What I like most about A Christmas Story is that it is a genuine tale. I especially like how it takes place in the 1940s. We all have a Christmas story to tell. A Christmas Story is all about childhood. When I was a kid I was so excited to unwrap all my gifts on Christmas morning. Christmas is a special time of year to spread cheer.

Several famous quotes and scenes have come out of A Christmas Story. The lamp shaped like a woman’s leg in chorus line stockings (the father was obsessed with that), the tongue stuck to the pole, and countless other scenes that make me crack up. A Christmas Story is a classic to never be forgotten.

Everything from the direction, editing, and realism is achieved. Bob Clark went for realism and he did it. He worked closely with the cast. He wanted to get natural reactions from the cast. For that scene in the restaurant, he purposely gave one of the actors a different script to get the reaction that we see onscreen.

Have you guessed how many times Ralphie says that he wants a Red Ryder BB gun? He says it 28 times. A Christmas Story is a feel-good holiday film. It will make you smile. I recommend that you watch it during the holiday season.

review
1

About the Creator

Marielle Sabbag

Writing has been my passion since I was 11 years old. I love creating stories from fiction, poetry, fanfiction. I enjoy writing movie reviews. I would love to become a creative writing teacher and leave the world inspiring minds.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.