Geeks logo

7. Guarantee

short story

By Matthew VacantiPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Sitting on the sofa in Dr. Yoshita's office, Logan started to get bored again - counting the holes in the ceiling. He'd gone for one round of testing and the results didn't make sense so he's supposed to go for another. Dr. Hara entered the room this time, making Logan get to his feet as if he'd done everything before,

"Ah Logan-san, how are you?" Dr. Hara asked, "Ready for some good news?"

Logan stared at him, "Sure."

"Good." Dr. Hara began, "Firstly, you won't have to do another panel. I convinced Dr. Yoshita not to. Secondly, you'll be placed under my care while we situate your DNA so you can spend more time with Sara."

"That's kind of you." Logan began, "Why am I under your care now? I thought you only handled cancer research..."

Both men sat down on the couch before Dr. Hara began, "I do oversee cancer research Logan-san, however, the research I conduct normally has other results that another department may be able to use for their research."

"I see." Logan said, not really sure

"I detect worry in your response and it is placed, which is why I persuaded Dr. Yoshita to allow you to be under my care. I know you don't know me a lot, however, I am overlooking Sara's care and she is doing better every day."

Logan sighed before replying, knowing there wasn't any danger, "What have you found so far?"

Dr. Hara handed Logan a manilla envelope, "I had a feeling you were going to ask about this. This is a copy of the official report, as the public report has been striken in areas. Come with me and I'll take you to Sara."

Both men got up and left the room, walking back down the plain hallway. Once inside Sara's room, Logan sat down at a table and opened the envelope. Inside were some reports, a chart, and some pictures. He was no doctor but it seemed this report was similar to the one Dr. Maynard took in Utah. Rolling over, Sara sat up in the bed, making Logan jump.

"You ok?" Logan asked putting the folder down on the table

"Nightmare. From our talk on the plane, you've probably guessed how my home life was before this." Sara began, "I was a nine-to-fiver, pulling in what I could to get by."

Logan sat back in his chair, "You don't have to tell me about any of this."

"I feel it's relevant, even if it makes me look desperate, despite where it lead me to." Sara replied

Logan got up from the table and snuggled into the bed, "If that's how it's to be." he began, "Then you have my full undived attention."

Sara turned over in the bed to face Logan, making sure the wires didn't snag anywhere, "This is what I like and could never get tired of; here I was going to share my life's story and make it into a sob story but then you made it all go away but in a good way. This is why we're good for each other I think, I mean we're constantly on each other's minds and both willing to do for each other..."

Logan smiled back for acknowledgment but knew in the back of his mind that as crazy as the ride has been, there's a point where you have to get off. For Sara, it'd be whenever her treatment was done. For him, it'd be whenever they were done testing. When she was asleep, Logan walked back over to the table and sat down. The test results were on his mind now. Since this whole thing's begun, Logan's grown a set of ears, a tail, and a few inches to his height(and he's only been in Japan not even a week). The conclusionary report said that there was nothing they could do because of length of time from the bite but allow the changes to run their course and that both Doctors Yoshita and Hara believed everything to be in a controlled environment.

They also noted Logan's association with Sara, stating that if anything ever did happen to her, Logan would more than likely become hostile. The report was five pages and very thorough. Logan sighed, rubbed his eyes, and sat the report down on the table. He looked over to Sara who was cute-snoring and came to the conclusion that under no circumstances even after everyone is sent home, will he let them drift apart. That at least he could guarantee.

To be Continued...

fan fiction
Like

About the Creator

Matthew Vacanti

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.