Geeks logo

60 Days, 60 Movies: Countdown to Halloween - Part 3

Clock's ticking, did we get our costumes ready . . . ?

By Delise FantomePublished 2 years ago 7 min read
Like
60 Days, 60 Movies: Countdown to Halloween - Part 3
Photo by Karen Zhao on Unsplash

It's the FINAL COUNTDOWN! Here we are with the final 20, and thanks for sticking with me, and this list- Happy Halloween you little freaks!

41. The Muppets' The Haunted Mansion

Kermit dressed as Miss Piggy, Miss Piggy dressed as Kermit

Yes, there is the caveat of this movie only being found on a streaming service, however- it's too damn cute to give up for this list. Now I did enjoy the Eddie Murphy Haunted Mansion film put out years ago, but this one is . . . this one is Perfect.

42. The Crow

Eric Draven serving face

What's better than a hot guy in makeup being dark and hot and murderous? Maybe the only time I've said a movie is better than the source material. No, wait, the second time. Jaws was a better movie than book too. Despite my brevity, the story of this movie is quite sad, but the vengeance wrought is oh, so delicious.

43. The Thing

MacReady holding a flamethrower, looking at the alien dying in the flames

Carpenter Nation rise up. And give me a blood sample. There's very few Kurt Russell movies that aren't excellent, and The Thing sure as hell isn't breaking that streak. Honestly, a perfect horror movie?

44. Black Christmas (1974)

Jess listening to someone on the phone

Canada isn't quitting with this horror movie list. Black Christmas, the original at least, is superb. There's so much to take in here- the lives of the girls, the way you never see the killer or know who it is, the gut-busting envy over Jess Bradford's gorgeous, healthy mane . . . Damn. Just fantastic.

45. Evil Dead II

Ash, possessed by a Deadite

ASH WILLIAMS BABY!! God I just love the Evil Dead saga . . . and this one is my favorite of them all. Nothing tops that hysterical laughter scene, or the way that absolutely nobody was safe from the evil of the Necronomicon. People are getting slapped, blasted, dragged, sliced . . . nobody is spared pain!

46. Gonjiam: Haunted Asylum

Ghost hunting group inside Gonjiam

Now I love this film from Korea. Top notch all around, and I haven't had the courage to watched it again since the first time three years ago thanks to that one particular scene with that particular makeup effect . . . Jesus Christ. However, I have done some reading recently and know that many (if not all) in the disability community strongly advocate for these places not to become horror destinations due to the real history of violence and pain here. So, I do sincerely apologize if this pick of the list is offensive. I wasn't sure if movies about asylum ghosts was okay, but the minute I find out it isn't I'll replace this piece . . .

47. 31

Travelling carnival workers being trapped in a deadly game

Oh Rob Zombie you twisted bastard. 31 is one of my favorite films of his, and I think it should be a different pick from the typical 1000 Corpses/Rejects that are usually put on these lists. Clowns, chainsaws, crazy bastards looking to cause some havoc . . . it's the little things, you know?

48. Spree (2020)

Kurt, ready to wow his audience once more

You know, I just like this funky little thing? The idea of someone being so desperate for engagement on social media that they literally kill people live is . . . not at all far fetched, so the believability of this adds to my enjoyment. Joe Keery from Stranger Things is the star of it, plus there's David Arquette (yes, from Scream!).

49. Hell House LLC

Paul, with an unwanted visitor in his room

Found footage horror, my beloved. Honestly it's hilarious I have so many of these on the list because I have terrible motion sickness! But I digress- you've got a ragtag company doing a ragtag horror house (the best kinds honestly), and then getting steamrolled by real and true horror. Moral of the story kids: Don't try to mix your capitalism with your occult! I don't care what the Illuminati does, YOU don't do it!!

50. The Running Man

Ben Richards about to be blasted into the game

A classic Schwarzenegger 80's film, chock full of iconic quips. Consider this a palette cleanser for those last ten films, but honestly I love this movie a lot. I stumbled upon this gem- a dystopian America that tortures prisoners for primetime entertainment in a show called Running Man- a few years ago, and I watch it at least every few months or so.

51. The Conjuring

Carolyn about to get scared

Yes, the very first Conjuring! One of the scariest movies I had seen when I first viewed it, and it still holds up well years later. I tell you what, those Farmiga sisters really hit the mark when they decided to jump into horror because those faces convey terror so excellently. If you're not afraid of the dark, you will be distinctly unsettled by it after watching this film.

52. The Nun

A demon taking the form of a Nun

Hell yeah, Conjuring Cinematic Universe. The Nun isn't exactly a sequel to the Conjuring films, in fact it's a prequel- and a damn good one at that. The Nun is terrifying on her own, but the spooky broken own church in the middle of the scary woods adds to it. I have such good memories of seeing this in theatres late at night with a crowd of drunk scaredy-cats . . .

53. Beetlejuice

Beetlejuice in the waiting room of the afterlife

The Ghost with the Most has to be on your Halloween movie list, there's no choice! You are bound by a sacred covenant of graveyard soil and Harry Belafonte! Obligated to watch in silence, so that you may remember why it is wise to never say that word thrice! It's showtime, baby.

54. Dead Silence

Mary Shaw and her puppet

A banger of a movie, and about one of the most naturally creepy things in this mortal world: puppets. At least one of the jump scares in this film is going to make you break that silence, and it'll be the worst mistake of your life.

55. Cabin In The Woods

Ooh, a mermaid!

My beloved! My dearly treasured and highly favored! This film was actually my favorite horror movie before I saw my new (and forever) favorite horror movie. It's got a lot of sharp jabs and quick moments of wit, and I just adore its premise. Plus, an early role for Chris Hemsworth! I want some merch for this movie . . .

56. Sinister

Ellison trying to solve some very strange murders

The first one was pretty solid, and the majority of my strength for this recommendation comes mostly through those tapes- Damn they were brutal. And that tragic ending will really make you side eye children for a while.

57. Insidious

Josh and Renai trying to help their son

Tiptoe, through the window, by the window, that is where I'll be . . . Don't lie to me you just shuddered, didn't you?!

58. Scream

Sydney and Tatum trying to figure out who's calling

A classic, a phenomenon, a fucking good movie. The original Scream, no matter how good some of the other sequels are, will reign as Supreme for all eternity because everything about it is so . . . fresh! They knew what the goal of this movie was, to subvert tropes and make something new, and damn it all if they didn't do exactly that. I love when a movie does pop culture references perfectly.

59. Halloween (1978)

Michael Meyer's standing on the second floor landing, knife in hand

The Boogeyman has brewed a lot of fear in the hearts of millions since he appeared on the screen in 1978. There's just something about a killer that never speaks, never runs, only kills that is . . . outstanding. And of course, we can't forget the amazing performance from a baby Jamie Lee Curtis! Laurie Strode is definitely on my dream blunt rotation.

60. Trick 'r Treat

Sam in a room decorated with words written in blood, jack-o-lantern flame raging

Listen to me carefully. This is my Favorite Horror Movie. Ever. God I love it so much, so fiercely, you just don't understand. I love this movie like Michael loves Jumpers. Like Arnold likes a good quip. Like . . . like, love it. This anthology film is beautifully shot, in this beautifully decorated little small town that goes all out for Halloween. And Sam.

Sam, my most treasured.

My little Pumpkin baby murder spirit.

With his little orange pajamas and his little orange jack-o-lantern lollypop that can cut a bitch in a pinch . . . . just follow his rules! That's all he asks! And how could you say no to that precious face of his.

By Sabina Music Rich on Unsplash

Dear readers I want to thank you once again for reading this list. Stay safe this Halloween okay? Check your candy, avoid the punch bowl, and . . . as always . . . Happy Haunting~

listmoviepop culture
Like

About the Creator

Delise Fantome

I write about Halloween, music, movies, and more! Boba tea and cheesecake are my fuel. Let's talk about our favorite haunts and movies on Twitter @ThrillandFear

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.